Among reefs and crabs.

Of all the places where I usually photograph birds, my favorite is the coast. Shorebirds are one of my favorites, I don’t know if it’s because of their behavior or variety, but I do know that I love them. Fortunately for me I live only 8 km away and every time I have the opportunity, I go there.

Not every day is profitable, sometimes I just enjoy a good walk to disconnect from the daily stress; others, however, bring many surprises, like the one I tell you below.

For some time I had been wanting to photograph these species catching crabs, which are their favorite dish. The technique is relatively simple, but it takes a lot of patience. I went out very early in the morning to look for them in the reefs. After a while I found him in full swing, I know because they concentrate so hard looking for the crabs that they practically don’t notice that you are close by. Then I followed him for about 40 minutes until he caught one.

It’s exciting to watch them, although I think the bird enjoys it more than you do. Ha, ha, ha, ha, quickly the camera ready with all the parameters and photos with him. It is amazing the ability they have to feed on these crabs, it is pure mastery.

In the end I was very happy and satisfied with the mission accomplished and I share them with you, hoping you enjoy them as much as I did taking them.

Name of bird: Yellow-Crowned Night-Heron / Guanabá Real.
Location: Baracoa Beach, Bauta, Artemisa province.

All pictures are by me (@muhammadhalim) taken with a Nikon D200 camera and 70-300mm lens.

Traducido con DeepL

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now