A swan in its shadow | Show Me A Photo Contest Round 186: Shadow of a bird

Hi everyone, for the #SMaP Show Me A Photo Contest Round 186 I would like to share with you some photos I took a few years ago on a winter walk around the beautiful glacial lake Bled (Slovenia).


My entry photo for the #SMaP, round 186

I find Bled particularly charming in winter, when nature calms down and there are fewer tourists than in the peak summer season. The animals that live around Lake Bled also benefit, as they have more peace and quiet in their habitat.

The weather was really optimal, perfectly clear and cloudless, and it was not too cold. Perfect conditions for taking some nice photos. I went for a walk with my family on the easy and well-maintained route around the lake, which took us about two hours, with stops in between to observe the surroundings.

On the way, we came across this beautiful swan, who, like us, was enjoying the warm rays of the sun, which were keeping it warm. I took the opportunity that presented itself to take some pictures of this beautiful and elegant bird, which symbolises purity, beauty and love.

I didn't want to get too close to it, not to scare it away, although I had the feeling that it was used to being close to people and didn't seem too bothered by my proximity.

When I got home, I did a little research. The swan in the photos is a species of mute swan found in Europe and Asia. It is one of the largest birds that can still fly. Males can reach weights of up to 12 kg and females more than 8 kg. Because of its size and weight, it needs a large surface area to take off. Their distinctive feature is their orange beak. They have a very long neck shaped like the letter S.

They build their nest on the ground or on a river bank. They feed on submerged parts of aquatic plants, algae, insects and small fish. Usually they lay about 5-7 eggs, and the newly hatched young, covered with greyish feathers, immediately go into the water.

Mute swans are a type of migratory bird. They also winter in Bled. I did not get exact data on how many swans are in Bled, but their population is certainly increasing. So, next time I go to Bled, I hope that luck will be with me and I will be able to see even more of them.

Further along our route, we also met a pair of ducks, resting carefree by the water.

I hope you liked my photos 📷🦢🦆📷

Thanks for reading,
feel free to leave a comment, I will be glad to reply to.
Best regards, @miljo76

follow.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center