Feathered Friends - The Nature Trip Along The Parsley Fields

The Walk 14.9 (37).jpg

When I decided to walk towards the Lobau National Park the other day passing through the fields of parsley and potatoes, I saw this bird that looked like a raven. I wasn´t sure whether it is a raven because of its white feathers on its breast. It seems as though that the birds here are a bit tamed (or maybe not) because when this bird saw me it didn´t move and stared at me.

The Walk 14.9 (35).jpg

It must be weird for this bird to stare at me, but one thing came to my mind, like the little duck I saw last week on the lagoon of Lobau, maybe it´s waiting for bread cubes.... and because I continued to move on, the bird was like walking parallel with me along my way.... LOl, can be that the birds here are used to getting food from the locals. At any rate, the fields here are surely full of worms and insects for them to prey upon.

The Walk 14.9 (39).jpg

At the end of the long and winding road, I saw other birds with nut held in between their beak ... there must be a place somewhere to hide these nuts, they gather them in preparation of the coming cold days, especially in winter when they cannot go hunt for food on the fields as some of them just stay however cold it may be. Other birds simply migrate to warmer lands where they can easily find nourishment.

The Walk 14.9 (40).jpg

It was not my intention to go to the lagoon I visited a couple of weeks ago. But then, I continued walking until I reached the bridge and looked for the young duck I saw from the last visit.. Anyway, I went down to the water area.... later , a duck came out of the reed but was only circling its area. Then, since I had no bread cubes , it quickly went hiding..

Then I decided, the lagoon had been quiet, I decided to go back... It´s a 1.5 km one-way so I had to hurry on time for the evening news. It was a quick walk and I am sure I did some good thing for my health.

IMG_20200914_175458.jpg

Many thanks to:

@melinda010100 and her Mod Team @barbara-orenya and @annephilbrick for bringing such an amazing #featheredfriends Community here on Hive.

To all those who want to join in and give contributions about your #featheredfriends, simply join this community, post images and have some fun seeing birds posted by other members.

GIF by @Gremayo.gif
GIF by @gremayo

All images were taken and content is written exclusively for Hive by @mers.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now