Australian Kookaburra Visits My Balcony!

kookaburra.jpg

This Kookaburra was so beautiful and sat on my balcony rail for about half an hour. I went quite close up, but he didn't move and allowed me to take this gorgeous photo.

The Kookaburra is an Australian and New Guinea native. They are the largest of the Kingfishers, growing between 28 to 46 cms from head to tail and weighing around 300 grams. . They have a very distinguishable call, which sounds like laughing! It is actually to tell other Kookaburras to stay out of their territory as they mate for life and live in close family groups.

I live in Sydney, Australia, and there are a few in my area. I love hearing their calls early in the morning, although they can get quite loud!

I also found this video which demonstrates their call (laugh) perfectly.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center