Show Me A Photo Contest Round 34 - Paper Bird Art

Welcome to Round 34 of Show Me A Photo Contest hosted by @nelinoeva. For those still unaware of this contest click on the link here and know more about why this Contest is so exciting.

For this week the theme of our photos should all be about

BIRD ART


This theme has really caused a big dilema on my part as there are a lot of bird artworks that one can find all over the house, from figurines to paintings to cross stitches to coffee cups shaped as a bird, that I had a hard time deciding which one to post. Of course I can show you all of these but then only one photo counts as the contest entry. And I so much want to enter everyone of them. But then rules are rules so for this Round I will just show you which of all these is the closest to my heart. Now why is it so? Well it's because it is done by my wife! And that's what makes it extra special.

IMG_20210903_213131.jpg

IMG_20210903_212141.jpg

IMG_20210903_212221.jpg

The photos above show a framed Origami work showing 3 Peace Doves hovering over some pin wheel shaped flowers attached to straws. Origami is the Japanese art of paper folding. The name is a combination of two words - "ori" which means to fold and "kami" meaning paper. This art has evolved considerably in the last decades that paper folding of anything is possible.

My wife picked up on this avocation last year when our city government imposed an Enhanced Community Quarantine which had us staying at home 24 / 7 except for trips to buy food and medicines. Apparently she made the most of the quarantine by embarking on so many projects inside her study. This was one of them.

Now I thought it would end there but, boy, was I wrong. The frame was subsequently upgraded slowly to include other critters plus some other decorative pieces to make the frame even more colorful. See photo below.

IMG_20210903_213251.jpg

Now you can see the upgrades. Aside from the crane, ladybug, frog, and snail she also added some paper doilies and floral patterns on the corners.

Here's a close up of the peace dove by the corner of the frame with the flowers. These doves actually not only depict peace but friendship as well. Which is, I guess, my wife's way of spreading peace and friendship in the home and family.
IMG_20210903_213409.jpg

I so love this piece of paper bird art.

And that's it for this Round. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did putting this post together. Many thanks to all our sponsors and benefactors and to our hard-working judge, @oks2crypto.

PS. I know I said I was only posting one bird art but I still can't resist showing the second most important piece of bird art in the house for me. It's a barnyard owl painted by my daughter using colored pencils. Hope you like it too.

image.png

Stay safe everyone and may you have a blessed weekend ahead.

(All photos are mine.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center