Catching the Cape Weaver Building a Nest for the Spring Nesting

1.JPG


I am not sure if the Cape Weavers are nesting in spring, but it sure felt like it with the frenzy of nest building going on. I did not see them first; instead, I heard them! They are an incredibly noisy bunch, and I always think about my grandfather trying to get rid of the weavers from his garden. After cutting his grass, marvelling the clean lawn, the weavers begin to pick the oak leaves which always fell onto his lawn – this infuriated him. Alas, this is in the past, and he has also moved on to better places.


3.JPG

2.JPG


Returning to the noisy bunch, building their nests in the strangest place, I saw them on top of a palm tree. It was really the strangest place that they could build their nest, because it was not close to water nor was it a secluded area safe from people moving constantly. It was on the side of a walkway where many people walk. But they decided this was the perfect place for their nests.

4.JPG


5.JPG


Interestingly, the birds also decided to cover the sides of the palm leaves with their nesting material; it looks like they did this to make a better grip for them when they hung on the sides of the palm trees. I have never seen this before. Maybe it is also future nests? I am not sure.

The Cape Weavers rarely come to my garden, so there are few nests in my garden, but one year they did come and visit the garden. I counted three nests, and a couple in the making. Interestingly, the weavers build many nests, much more than they will end up using and needing. This apparently acts as practice runs for their perfect nest, or nest that the female bird did not like. But the good thing is that others bird also uses these nests in the end!


6.JPG

7.JPG


On this particular palm tree, there were dozens of nests, with many birds flying around making a complete ruckus. If you have never heard them scream and screech, you are in for a treat. Sadly, and stupid of me, I did not take a video of this moment in which the birds desperately built their nests. It was an incredible sighting to behold.

9.JPG


8.JPG


According to the watchlists, these birds are luckily not under any threat of extinction. Their numbers are quite strong and this is a good thing, as I mentioned the unused nests are used by other birds who take them over. But they can work on your nerves sometimes. From their very sharp shouts to the fact that they love my fig tree… It is funny how many different species love the figs. But amongst these little friends and the common European starling, they can really cause some damage to my fig tree. Luckily, there is plenty for them and for me to pick from! Sharing is caring, even if I need to share some of the figs to keep these friendly friends happy.

10.JPG


11.JPG


12.JPG


13.JPG

I will also be more than willing to share space in the garden for them to build their homes! They can just come and build... As their homes are stunning pieces of artwork, don't you think?

In any case, I hope that you enjoyed the photographs of these ferocious builders, prepping their nests for the coming breeding season.

Let us hope that we men do not have the same problem as these male Cape Weavers, and that our first attempts at building a perfect home will be the last attempt!

Happy birding, and keep well.

All of the musings and reflections are my own, albeit inspired by the weavers weaving and shouting. The photographs are my own, taken with my Nikon D300 and Tamron 300mm zoom lens.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center