Lady Marabou and Her Five Mile Legs

This week @nelinoeva used my theme suggestion of Long-Legged Birds for the Show Me a Photo contest in the Feathered Friends Community. Though thrilled to have my idea used, I was concerned that I might not have any birds long enough to contribute. I worried that I might have to stretch a crow, or that I would find myself $25 poorer on a rainy Saturday afternoon in a zoo trying to squeeze through the crowd of sticky ice cream children to get a picture of a giraffe so I could photoshop a crow's head onto it.

Fortunately, I opted to first revisit the thousands of photos I've taken in the last two years (75% of which are birds*), and found this sexy babe:

DSC_1505.JPG

A Marabou Stork! I don't know if this bird is male or female. The internet says that males are a little larger and have giant air sacs on their throats. Since we can see neither throat nor other stork for size comparison, I am going to call her a little old bald man in diapers and a feather boa. She's so coy, isn't she? She needs one of those long cigarette holders to go with her long legs. Maybe a Jackson hat to further confuse and defy any gender assumptions.

At the same sanctuary where I met the stork I also met a Sacred Ibis. This Ibis was sooooo tall. He was really embarrassed about his height, though, so he hid his long legs behind a tree.

He told me he gets tired of people asking him if he plays basketball.

DSC_1529.JPG

Here's a bowl full of original flavor, high-fiber, un-sacred Ibises with extra sweet faces. Their legs are long-ish.

DSC_1527.JPG

And some of you might remember this guy:

DSC_1475.JPG

The Shoebill has long legs but that's in part because he has a body the size of a five-month-old German Shepherd puppy and as such needs baba yaga house stilts to hold him up.

He pees on them, you know. His legs. To keep cool.

A while back I wrote a post about the fictional behavioral habits of this Stilty-Legged Sand Stabber, also sometimes referred to as a Marbled Godwit.

DSC_7951.JPG

And then there's these OMFG cute AF sandpipers.
DSC_8355.JPG
They're like little robins with needle noses running around the beach on tiny chopsticks.

Look how cute they are!

DSC_8360.JPG

Look at this baby!!!!

DSC_8104.JPG

DSC_8101.JPG

The End.



CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless Lady Marabou and her Drag Brunch Crew (and I) say it's ok.

DSC_1540.JPG
* understatement

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center