Woodpecker - Where are you?



cloyzv7qr01bdd7szailjh60x_IMG_8578.webp
cloyzv7p301ame9szbtsxa4sf_IMG_8574.webp
cloyzvljd0010qjsze2o4g8zd_IMG_8579.webp
cloyzvn96001z9osz9l77fxys_IMG_8580.webp

After 3:00 p.m. I was resting in my hammock. There was no electric service, so the noises diminish. That's a nice way of saying that there are fewer frequencies traveling in the human auditory spectrum caused by all the technology around us. That's why nature sounds predominate.

But there was one that caught my attention. It was a repetitive, constant, rapid tapping. It paused, and came back. It paused and came back. It could only belong to one animal: the woodpecker. I got out of the hammock and started looking in the direction of the source of the sound. I searched, searched, searched, and only after several minutes did I manage to see it. It was at a considerable distance. Still, I didn't want to miss the opportunity to photograph it. I ran downstairs to the first floor to get the camera and attach the lens 75 - 300 mm.

f/8, ISO 400, 1/125s and a maximum focal length of 300 mm on the lens was the setting I used to get as close as possible to this specimen. Its beautiful red crest was enough to attract the camera's autofocus. And with some shyness it seems that it listened to the camera's shots, and wanted to hide among the branches to expose only the upper part of its body. One of the most wonderful things about this bird is the color scheme, which came into existence before any fictional artistic representation of vampires.

Reviewing its magnificent design deserves a separate chapter, how it constantly hits a wood with its beak without any damage to its brain and head. But that is better explained by many sites on the web. For now, I delight in having heard and seen with my own eyes this marvel of creation that I now share with you.

The photos are my own, taken with my Canon EOS Rebel t3i camera.


Twitter



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center