Memoir Monday #23 - My Maiden Journey

Greetings dear Hiveans!!! There are special events or days in our lives which we would like to treasure. Imagine putting this treasure in writing, recalling the good old days. If you really wish to, take some time to visit #memoirmonday hosted by @ericvancewalton , a series of your memoir can be reviewed by yourself, at the end of the year.

Coming to this week's prompt - consider one of your best days you can remember

Too many best days came and went, into my life. One of the best days was my first travel by flight, to KSA with my husband and my daughter, then 5 months old. I never expected a travel abroad, while studying or working.

This was my very first journey in flight, in late 90's, can call it my maiden journey. At first , when my husband called to say my Visa was ready, I was happy. But when I thought about the journey, honestly I wasn't prepared. I was so scared to travel in an Aeroplane. It was like oh! to fly so high, no way. What if something happens ? All these ran into my dry thoughts. Today, when looking back, I couldn't help laughing at myself. Infact, even today my children make fun of me, as they travel alone when necessity arise. May be, this is called a part of life.

The worst part was, I was supposed to join my husband, with my 5 month old daughter, but unfortunately due to my uncontrollable fear, my husband has to travel all the way to take us . An unbearable expense.

Let me narrate my very first experience in flight. My first travel was in Kuwait Airways. And that was the transit place, minimum 4 hrs, I believe. My seat was next to the window. When the flight took off with a jerk and raised some feets above ground level, my hearbeat increased. Infact, the sound of my heart beat was more audible, than the aircraft engine sound. I caught my husband's hand tight for fear of any mishap.

Once in air, I was relaxed. Enjoyed the meal provided by the Air hostess, I was infact relaxed to see the happy and smiling faces of the Air hostess. I enjoyed watching a Hindi movie played in the small monitor fixed to the seat infront of our chair. And then off to sleep. The flight was to land in 15 minutes and we were asked to fasten our seat belts. To be frank, I loved this part as I was enjoying the view outside the window.
Finally, our flight landed.

Let me remind you, all these time my daughter was taken care by my husband. We caught our next flight and reached our destination in 2hrs. From there, together we started our wonderful journey, surfacing all ups and downs in one boat.

As my journey was in late 90's I do not have any travel related photos. Instead, posting few recent photos of trips, captured by my daughter from her mobile.

Thankyou for your much valuable time.

Happy friday friends !!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center