My Silver Name

Being part of this beautiful community for me is an honor, and since I saw the post where I could choose my name I couldn't stop thinking about it, that's why I'm happy to share the story of my Silver Name.

I was rehearsing in my mind what name would make sense to me, I didn't want to suggest one that didn't resonate, that had no history, that wasn't important, I didn't want to pass up this opportunity to choose either.

In several publications I have commented that every month I celebrate the day my children were born; that is, my prince was born on August 8, so every 8th of the month I make a small cake to make a small celebration, the same with my princess who was born on the 25th.

Also, the days of our graduation anniversary, our wedding anniversary, the birthday and adoption anniversary of Nero, our dog-son, and any date that allows us to make a sweet sharing.

So, I can say that making cakes is an activity that I really enjoy. What I do most are vanilla cakes, I have also made orange cakes, other times pineapple or passion fruit.

Occasionally I bake quesillo, (a dessert made of eggs and condensed milk, cooked in a bain-marie) and oatmeal cookies.

coffee-5630799.jpg

Image by jrmartins published in Pixabay

But my history with desserts didn't begin with my children's little celebrations of life....

I grew up with my mom, who was a single mother, and I studied at the University of Carabobo, which is a public university, but despite not having tuition expenses, my expenses for books, transportation and so on, sometimes it was difficult to afford for my mom, and my dad's economic support was not something constant, so there were periods when my budget was very tight.

On one occasion, I was talking to a neighbor-friend who had prepared what is known here as "Besitos de Coco ", (it is a dessert similar to a coconut cake but with some different ingredients), and it occurred to me that I could make them to sell, she was a great help, and so I began to have a small income that lightened my mother's burden.

cakes-5746515.jpg

Image by zozz published in Pixabay

The Besitos de Coco I sold them at the university, at church, to the neighbors, but my biggest customers were my mom's co-workers.

My business not only covered my expenses, but I was also able to help my mother a little with household expenses.

After a while, I also learned to make cupcakes, this was taught to me by my neighbor's husband, they do not know the good they did me, I think I have never expressed it to them, I have this pending task.

muffins-1624142.jpg

Image by congerdesign published in Pixabay

After I finished university and started working I left my small business, my job was very demanding, and my salary exceeded my small income, but when I remember what I achieved with my Besitos de Coco (Coconut Kisses) and my cupcakes I smile with pride and satisfaction, it was not an easy time, but the sweetness of my desserts are part of this sweet memories.

After that stage, I have made Kisses of Coco a few times, the last time was about 3 years ago, now that I think about it, I had not realized how much time has passed, I have to prepare them again in the next few days, my children have not eaten them yet.

It is mainly because of this part of my life that I chose Sweet Silver as my name within the community.

I want to say that Silver Bloggers is one of the first communities I met when starting Hive, I have not been as active as I would like, but I have a special place in my heart, here I have met wonderful people to whom I have felt very close despite the miles of distance that separate us. Thanks to all the support.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center