My little steps in the wonderful world of recycling.

Recycling is a wonderful topic, at home we try not to throw everything away, but inevitably the amount of waste we generate is greater than what we manage to take advantage of, I have to admit that this is our reality.

recycle-57136.jpg

Image by shirley published in Pixabay

Of course, the issue is not new, in fact children are told about recycling at school, but even so, what is actually recycled in homes is still very little.

In my case, when I think of recycling, the first thing I think of is compost, I have a gallon container (it was originally for wall paint) in which I put coffee grounds, (I drink coffee every day, so this element is never lacking), I add a smoothie made from potato shells, carrots, beets, among others, and I leave it covered for several weeks, and I use it when I give my plants love.

When I lived in the south of the city, we used the paint pails (5 gallon containers) to store water.

When I was very young, even before entering university, with my beloved maternal aunt I learned to decorate bottles (of liquor, oil, among others) using paper bags that they gave out at the bakery when buying bread, I regret not have photos of them, they were beautiful.

When we buy cobs, we reserve the leaves to later prepare corn hallaquitas (a corn flour dough is made, to which garlic, onions, peppers, paprika and cilantro are added, and it is cooked wrapped in corn leaves, it is a delight).

We always reuse margarine containers, usually we keep food leftovers there.

logo_normal28.png

Image by Empresas Polar

We also use the mayonnaise jars, there was a season when we used them as a cheap version of a mason jar.

Mayonesa-Kraft-445g-768x768.jpg

Image by Luxor

D_NQ_NP_800316-MLV25587676135_052017-O.webp

Image by mercado libre

Even in December, we have come to decorate the tapas and give away our delicious Dulce de Papaya. At times like this, I think: why didn't I take pictures of them?

Dulce-de-lechosa-o-papaya-683x1024.webp

Image by laylita

When my prince was two years old, I took on the task of cleaning my library, it is impressive the amount of work documents that I had saved, so all the sheets that had a clean face I kept them as recycled sheets, in total there were 5 reams (packs of 500 sheets) and those are the sheets that I give my children to make their first artistic strokes.

Another thing I've done is use leftover candle wax to make new candles, but I have to fine-tune my technique.

A project that I have pending is to make shopping bags with old jeans, I hope to do it in a short time...

There is so much that could be done for our planet, and we do very little... This reminds me of a phrase by Mother Teresa of Calcutta: Sometimes we feel that what we do is just a drop in the sea, but the sea would be less if one drop was missing.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center