Pathway to Healing - The Strength Within

IMG_20211111_132342 (1).jpg

It never fails to amaze me how we as humans can overcome adversities, be it physical or emotional.

Ok, I know it's often more than just a little hiccup, nevertheless, we can overcome difficulties or learn to live a new kind of life, and of course, it all depends on the size of those curveballs life throws our way.

Yet, we still doubt ourselves when we go through a crisis; be it the tragic loss of a loved one, physical pain, sickness, financial woes, trouble with the neighbours, or whatever.

I did not feel this positive five weeks ago just after my hernia 'fix.' The deep despair of the loss of my sweet hubby knocked the wind out of my sails once again when I had to face this painful journey alone. I turned to YouTube videos to find techniques to get in and out of bed, and I searched and searched till I eventually found something that worked with a couple of tweaks.

I can drive again, cough, and sneeze (still with no gusto!) and have to restrain myself and be careful with certain movements, BUT I am pain-free at last. Of course, one forgets, but the odd twinge is nothing compared to what it was like before.

The body's ability to heal itself is truly a wonder, a miracle in fact, but we have to play the game and not work against it!

Listen to your body, get good nutrition, rest, spend time outdoors in the sun, if the weather permits, put on your favourite music, and connect with friends and family, even if it's just a phone call. If there's no one, you will always find like-minded people here on Hive, join one of the Discord channels, and you'll soon have a new circle of virtual friends from all over the world! A great way to expand one's horizons.

Laughter is the best medicine, although I could not do much of that in the beginning - yes those tummy muscles do their job when it comes to laughing!

The best news of all is that there is help for IBS which was what more than one doctor diagnosed, watch your diet, and try cutting out dairy, gluten, and gassy-forming foods like cruciferous veggies (cabbage and so forth), dried beans, fried food, chocolate, and other triggers. What works for some, doesn't work for others, so it's best to take note of what triggers your IBS.
Caffeine is no good, but I am having my morning coffee again, am using way less coffee creamer, cutting out sugar, and limiting myself to only one cup per day!

IBS triggers are different for everyone, and I'm certainly not going to deprive myself and not have a treat every so often, BUT, I'm not overdoing it, and it's doing the trick so far!

The lesson learnt is never to give up, and to draw on that inner strength that we all have!

Pale Pink Lilac Modern Congratulation With Motivational Phrase  Instagram Post.png


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center