Memoir Monday - Simple Pleasures, Special Times

Memories long forgotten come flooding back with @ericvancewalton's #memoirmonday prompts.
After mulling over the prompt for a couple of days, I often have a vague idea of what I'm going to talk about, but feel that there's not enough to write about.

I should know by now that I need to stop overthinking, and simply sit down and start writing tapping the keyboards, as that is when the door opens to some long-lost memories.

My forever memory bank here on Hive is filling up, with the added bonus of being able to share it with family and friends who played a part in making those memories.

This week’s Memoir Monday prompt:

What simple pleasures of life do you truly enjoy?

Many fall into the trap of thinking they need to spend loads of money to find pleasure in life, but of course soon realize those are just fleeting moments of pleasure.

What simple pleasures do I truly enjoy?

The Ocean

I love walking barefoot in the sand on the beach, digging my toes into the sand, feeling the vibration of the ocean tide beneath the wet sand. Walking in the water where gentle waves lap onto the sand, and having to scramble when an unexpected bigger wave comes rolling towards me.

Exploring rockpools, searching for seashells and beach pebbles, sitting on the rocks, gazing out at the sea while listening to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks, and feeling the ocean spray on my face.

I'm currently enjoying a midweek break in our favourite resort on the East Coast, and the early morning ritual is having an earlier than usual cup of coffee on the patio to watch the spectacular sunrise over the ocean.
Once the sun is up, I turn my back to the sun to feel the warmth on my back on a winter's day; what a treat!


20210622_140459.jpg

1000030119.jpg

Full-Roast Coffee

Waking up to the aroma of freshly ground coffee and having that first sip is pure bliss! Yes, I am an early morning coffee-addict, cannot function if I miss it, which happens rarely. The day simply ain't the same without my cup of dark-roast coffee!

During winter months I get back under the blankets with my coffee, and a rusk, and if I feel like an extra spoil, I'll add foam on top.

During summer months, I'll have it at the dining room table, paging through a magazine, or scrolling through my Hive feed on my phone.

Hubby used to spoil me with coffee in bed.

I miss that, but miss him more!

20191114_061303.jpg

Special People

I love spending time with my favourite people, and it can be anywhere; enjoying the sun, sitting around a fire somewhere away from it all, talking and laughing; yes especially the laughter. Others would think we're crazy if they were to listen in, and not understand what the belly laughs were about.


20230524_Mandy Liz Josh 2.jpg

20230525_204051.jpg
IMG_20230924_124440.jpg

I have been blessed by crossing
paths with wonderful folk who have enriched my life.

A real treat is meeting up with old school or work buddies, and catching up on what's been happening in everyone's lives.

IMG-20231110-WA0013 (1).jpg

Impromptu Road Trips

Spur-of-the-moment road trips turn into exciting memorable fun-filled days; turning off the highway and exploring our beautiful countryside. We often look at each other afterwards, shake our heads in wonder about discovering hidden gems and amazing nature right on our doorstep.
IMG_20240103_100644.jpg
20240106_082204.jpg

Music fills my Soul

I love music, many genres, always have music playing in the background while working or blogging at my desk.
What would life be without music, very dull indeed!

Cooking and Baking

I lost all interest in playing in my favourite playground, the kitchen, ever since Arthur left this earthly world, but am slowly getting back and loving it.
The simple but delicious brunch we enjoyed today.
1000030180.jpg
I could go on and on; the smell of freshly cut grass, my little herb garden which is right outside my kitchen window, being able to step out the door and pick my favoute herbs for cooking.

These, and more, are the most special things in my life.


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center