ANOTHER VISIT TO BROKENSHIRE MEDICAL CENTER IN DAVAO CITY

Hi everyone!

Two (2) weeks ago, I posted about our visit to my daughter’s pediatrician at the BMC. I shared with you the new building constructed for its Outpatient Services and how it began in Davao.

Today, I paid another visit and this time I want to show you how much it has improved from its old look.

The BMC, together with the Brokenshire College, is housed in a 14-hectare lot in Madapo Hills in Davao City. This is the best thing I like about it: it is wide and spacious enough! I feel free moving around, inhaling fresh air because of the greens around it.

Upon arrival you will notice that the management built welcome signage like those of national highways.

It also has an expansive parking area.

As I mentioned in my past article, BMC is managed by the United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP). When you enter its Main Building, you will see this beautiful painting that speaks of how Jesus Christ gathered and talked to his people in their community.

In front of this beautiful painting is the Paging Counter which is also in front of the Cashier and Pharmacy.

There is a lobby in front of the Paging Counter where you will find the important units of the hospital, such the Admitting Unit, Billing Unit and Philhealth Unit. Philhealth is a social health insurance given to Filipinos who are admitted in hospitals and regularly pay their contributions.

Moving forward, you will see other important units of BMC on the Ground Floor such as the X-Ray Section, Pediatric Wing (on its other end is the Adult Wing), Corporate Office, and Coffee Shop.

As managed by a religious entity, it has a chaplain center named after a well-respected doctor. This unit looks after the personal needs of Brokenshire College students, not just their academic needs, through the provision of general spiritual and personal advice, and strategies that support the emotional wellbeing of students and the broader school community.

It has an office that focuses on the patients’ concerns.

BMC has two (2) floors with a basement. Doctors, nurses and watchers usually take the stairs going up, but there is a ramp specially used for patients being transferred using the wheelchair or the stretcher. Most of the important units are on the second floor but there are seven (7) more units that can be found in the basement.

Now you will see why I like this hospital more than the others…because its development is horizontal. It just feels so comfortable going from one unit to another having less worries of close contact with other people. Davao Doctors Hospitals gives me that phobia because its improvement is vertical. It has ten (10) floors with very limited space. Most of their important units such as the Emergency, Admitting, Cashier plus the elevator lobby is always crowded.

I want to end this by reiterating that BMC is not just better because of its improved facilities now, but because of its human resources. It employs nurses who are already well-experienced. I can attest how compassionate and caring their nurses are because I gave birth to my second child here. I saw how attentive, courteous and responsible they were to me, my baby and our room. Yes! I requested that my baby be housed with me in the same room. I did not want her left in the nursery and they approved and even gave both of us extra care.

So, from doctors, nurses and all other staff, services and system, I would highly recommend BMC. I hope that they continue with their quality service so that more patients can experience the worth of every penny they spend for their health care.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now