Under the weather

My almost-drowned market stand

Yesterday, The Husband wasn't the only one under the weather. In the real sense of the word. That was my stand, with dear Cecil taking shelter - about an hour into the market.

Yes, we anticipated rain, but not the deluge that arrived. My weather app must be one of the most consulted on my phone. It helps with scheduling washing day (no, we don't have a dryer and plan never to have another again) as well as for helping with menu planning - for us and, more importantly - for the market.

The weekly offering in the jar.

Chickpea and cauliflower curry

I chose this week's chickpea and cauliflower curry especially because it's a meal that can be served either cold or hot.

During Friday night, and early into Saturday morning, I listened to the rain and remembered that the app had said that the rain would be done by around 7am. When I arrived in the kitchen at 6, it was still pouring, but when I went back upstairs for a cuppa with The Husband, it had stopped. A close inspection of, firstly, the sky, and secondly, the weather gods app, suggested that we should take the gazebo but that we probably wouldn't need it.

Screenshot_20230422_070145_The Weather Channel.jpg

Usually, 60% probability or less means McGregor doesn't get rain.
Much. Worth running from. All I can say is that the weather gods app lied. Not only did the rain abate at around 2pm, but the heavens opened.

That was after the heaviest downpour had abated and my friend, S was packing up her stall.

B&B always share their stand with F who makes the world's best samosas pronounced samoosa. She'd left by the time the rain had mostly stopped and I stepped out from under cover to take a few snaps. R, whose table is also in the picture, was also packing up.

By the time I took this picture, it really was just the diehards sticking it out . Thanks to trusty regulars and to a couple of visitors who braved the weather, we all had at least one sale. Happily I had a few more than that, but nothing really worth writing home about.

Hahaha! So why am I writing a post about it?

Ahem, well, for two reasons:

Between around 8am, when we left for the market and returned home around 11.30am, 20mm of rain fell. As awful as The Husband was feeling, he still measured the rain...

Secondly, my friend, J, who's car you can see just in front of Cecil, and who started the market, says that this is the first time in 21 - yes - twenty one years, that it's been entirely washed out. And no, we can't use the church hall. We've been down that road, and just. No. It's a lost cause. It may have taken a while, but J and I (mostly) know which battles to pick.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center