A shortlived respite

A comforting seasonal ratatouille for pasta night. No salad because I cooked some of the salad ingredients into the dish.

IMG_20230420_061425_337.jpg

Missing from the ingredients on the stove top is the brinjal (eggplant/aubergine), which I had already salted and cooked.

IMG_20230420_061425_283.jpg

Some years ago, instead of chucking all the ingredients in the pan, I started cooking them separately and, especially roasting the peppers, pulling it all together at the end. I was so happy with the result, when I have the time, it's the standard procedure.

Then, friend SY, who grew up in France, told me that this is how "they" do it in Provençe...

IMG_20230420_061425_378.jpg

After a few days more than worth writing home about, I was happy to have kitchen time to produce something that the somewhat poorly Husband actually ate with relish.

That seems to have been short-lived. Today, we're almost back where we were a week ago. Not helped - for anyone - by the delay in the surgery for three weeks. We always joke that The Husband eats for three. When he doesn't even eat for one...well, you get my drift...

image.png

Post script: I was trying to participate in @traciyork's April #HiveBloPoMo. RL - more than my day job - has thwarted my efforts. I know she does a re-run in November. Let's see where we are then, and perhaps I'll also try again. If you have no idea what I'm on about, read about it here.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center