My Road to HiveFest - A hell of a day!

It was to be expected, but I didn't expect that!

The weather forecast had predicted a terrible day for my arrival in Italy and the crossing of Piedmont (The north province of Italy)

I woke up to the ominous rumble of thunder and a sky that promised anything but a pleasant ride.

I geared up and hit the road under heavy rain and a furious thunderstorm.

Riding Through the Deluge

In the image below, you can easily spot my planned route by following the lightning path:


The first leg of my journey was a 60 km stretch to Aosta, and let me tell you, it felt like riding through a waterfall.

It took me two grueling hours to cover those 60 kilometers. No part of my gear was spared from the deluge; my jacket grew progressively heavier with each kilometer, soaking through despite its supposed rain resistance. My gloves and boots, both advertised as waterproof, caved under the relentless fury of the storm. My recently acquired Gore-Tex pant was the only gear that stood up to the elements. Shoutout to modern technology for that small mercy.

Changing Plans

Arriving in Aosta, drenched and facing the inevitable prospect of more rain, I made a strategic decision. Although I initially vowed to avoid toll roads for the genuine experience of the route, I realized that making it to Milan and further in one piece was a more pressing goal. I swallowed my pride and took the highway.

Once I hit the highway to Milan, I found myself staring blankly at the road, simply waiting for the day to pass. Riding in the storm remained a formidable challenge.

An unexpected turnaround

By the time I arrived in Milan, I pulled into the first service station I found to recuperate a bit. I was utterly soaked, every inch of me drenched and heavy from the water. I grabbed a warm drink and took a moment to dry off a bit.

Thankfully, the rain unexpectedly began to ease off. During the next kilometers, the speed and wind had helped dry out some of my gear, lifting my spirits slightly.

Back to the Original Plan

Feeling rejuvenated, I decided to leave the highway and return to my original promise of avoiding toll roads. The universe seemed to reward my perseverance; I ended the day riding under a rainbow, with sunshine breaking through the clouds. It was as if the gods were blessing me again with a breathtaking scenery as a reward for my day's trials.

Looking Ahead

Despite the tough conditions, today reinforced why I embarked on this adventure: to test my limits and experience the journey. Tomorrow I'll be heading towards Venice, then Trieste, hopeful for better weather and prepared for whatever comes my way.

Thank you for following along on this wet and wild ride. Your support keeps me going, and I can't wait to share more of my adventures with you all.

Ride on!


Check out my apps and services



Vote for me as a witness

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center