Tales of the Urban Explorer: The 'Yobbo' Farmhouse

Old Farmhouses do ‘the rounds’ within the Facebook Urbex Underground Community. Then they are branded with a name. So far this one doesn't have one, so I will christen it.

Sometimes it can be the real name, other times some name which resembles what can be found there. I don’t want to reveal the name of this one as it will give away the location.

65_IMG_2074_65.jpg

Once the info is out, every man and his dog will visit. If they are true Urban Explorers then fine, but some are there to vandalise and destroy.

57_IMG_2065_57.jpg

I was hearing tales of drunken yobs hanging out in the outer barns getting pissed and throwing bricks through the windows of the farmhouse just for fun.

1_IMG_2003_1.jpg

This makes me sick and is the dark side of what I see. Apparently, these blokes were not young and in their thirties.

3_IMG_2005_3.jpg

I was hoping they would not be there when I arrived. They were not, but approaching this barn I jumped out of my skin.

4_IMG_2007_4.jpg

A couple of older blokes were nosing around and seemed to think I was some kind of authority figure, there to kick them out!

5_IMG_2008_5.jpg

After chatting with them, one getting a little too close to me for my liking ('COVID-19, back off you twat'), they explained they were locals and that the farm had been inhabited just 2 years before.

6_IMG_2009_6.jpg

They did not explain the whereabouts of 'Mr. Farmer' and family now and I have been unable to dredge up any other information.

Barns don't really do it for me, so after a short talk, I exited and headed for the house.

7_IMG_2010_7.jpg

Meanwhile, some other younger bloke is heading toward me, phone glued to his ear.

…’Urbex locations are usually quiet and without noise or people, this one was becoming busy and would require a fucking queue soon complete with admission charges’…

PhoneGuy was a little startled to see me but I could see he was not part of the Yob crew I had been warned about.

9_IMG_2012_9.jpg

After yet another chat, he revealed himself to be another lone Urban Explorer who had left the family in the car, while he looked around at this farmhouse with the smashed windows and curtains blowing wildly in the wind.

10_IMG_2013_10.jpg

The day was getting stranger by the minute and we both headed into the house, which had been made considerably easier likely due to the Yobs pulling away the anti-climbing fencing and bashing the back door in.

11_IMG_2015_11.jpg

PhoneGuy went into the depths of the house and we left each other alone after this besides a quick 'bye' when he left.

12_IMG_2016_12.jpg

The kitchen was quite trashed but contained a few items of interest. Someone had left their old prescriptions in the fridge.

13_IMG_2017_13.jpg

49_IMG_2054_49.jpg

Here’s a note from 1996 revealing someone’s driving theory test, wonder if they passed? The theory is the easier part.

14_IMG_2018_14.jpg

17_IMG_2021_17.jpg

What was once the living room was equally bad. I zoned in on the piano in the corner which sadly failed to conjure up even a single note.

15_IMG_2019_15.jpg

Old stereos used to look like these; a double cassette unit was always handy for ripping off Spectrum and Commodore games.

16_IMG_2020_16.jpg

Is the 'Furious Farmer' the one who used to live here?

19_IMG_2023_19.jpg

I guess the stereo had a lot of use once, you don’t see tapes very often these days.

20_IMG_2024_20.jpg

Moving to the other side of the house I noticed it was much barer and a lot less vandalised. Wallpaper doesn’t fare too well in damp conditions and is one of the first things to go.

22_IMG_2026_22.jpg

23_IMG_2027_23.jpg

Besides the broken window, the kitchen was empty but not in too bad a state.

21_IMG_2025_21.jpg

25_IMG_2029_25.jpg

The farmhouse had two sets of stairs and the upper floors were segregated. One section was wrecked and the other quite untouched.

26_IMG_2030_26.jpg

28_IMG_2032_28.jpg

I ascended up the wrecked ones first and checked out the bathroom.

27_IMG_2031_27.jpg

Broken windows and flapping curtains I caught on camera, it was a windy day. Is this where the bricks came through?

30_IMG_2034_30.jpg

29_IMG_2033_29.jpg

A small room contained some exercise equipment and model trains still in the box.

32_IMG_2036_32.jpg

31_IMG_2035_31.jpg

…’and here we have the bedroom from hell, it was probably once quite nice’…

35_IMG_2039_35.jpg

I should have had a look at that device in the corner. Is it some audio equipment? Put it down to inexperience, most places I check are shells, and not full of gear like this one.

36_IMG_2041_36.jpg

The other stairs were the opposite; quite clean and tidy.

37_IMG_2042_37.jpg

38_IMG_2043_38.jpg

39_IMG_2044_39.jpg

40_IMG_2045_40.jpg

Had the Yobs not reached this part of the house yet? The upper areas were similar and contained little in the way of dickhead evidence, it was nice to see.

42_IMG_2047_42.jpg

…’why have just a single front door, when you can have a backup, you know… just in case’…

Making my way back to the grotty section of the house I homed in on a few items.

46_IMG_2051_46.jpg

47_IMG_2052_47.jpg

The glasses are regular ones, does that mean someone is now struggling to get by in life and quite blind?

48_IMG_2053_48.jpg

Someone keeps leaving the ‘Straw Chopper’ out, and Rose needs a dose; dose of what?

50_IMG_2055_50.jpg

51_IMG_2056_51.jpg

Teething Jelly means small babies might have been here once.

52_IMG_2057_52.jpg

53_IMG_2058_53.jpg

This area was full of beer cans, bottles, and alcohol remains. Sure signs of the Yobs again.

63_IMG_2071_63.jpg

I checked the outhouses before leaving but there was little of interest. Old used tins of paint don’t really do it for me, even lots of tins.

64_IMG_2072_64.jpg

What this is, I have no idea. There were plenty of webs on it.

62_IMG_2070_62.jpg

I left Yobbo Farmhouse feeling quite sad knowing that someone’s lovely home is likely to get wrecked and vandalised over the coming months.

55_IMG_2062_55.jpg

If everyone could be trusted with the Urbex code of ‘take nothing but photographs, leave nothing but footprints’ then I would be happy knowing the only thing to deteriorate ‘The Yobbo Farmhouse’ would be the British weather.

Sadly this is never the case. I haven't seen any recent reports on Facebook, so maybe it is off the current radar. I won't be giving out the location of this to anyone but my most trusted comrades.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Commmunity on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center