Tales of the Urban Explorer: The Cubs Hut

The Cubs Hut’ is not officially next on my list of explores. That belongs to yet another Time Capsule, as does the one after that.

It's a question of slow-releasing 'the good stuff' intermingled with the duffers. I can't do the best ones one after another?

14_IMG_0055_14.jpg

This means you're going to have to tolerate this rather crap explore, which was discovered by @anidiotexplores and is quite close to where he lives.

15_IMG_0056_15.jpg

I have never been for discrimination of explores. If we can get in and there's something to photograph then it's fair game. If it sucks big donkey dicks like this then so be it.

13_IMG_0054_13.jpg

The Cubs brought back bad memories for me. I joined at the age of 8, allowed my parents to buy me the full clothing outfit, and then attended around 4 times before vetoing it.

They were hardly impressed with the wasted expenditure, but I was even less enthralled with the rampant bullying.


image.png
Source

If Lord Baden-Powell meant well with his 'Cubs', then he could stick his Cub Scouts up his arse as well as the ‘teachers’, and the beefy older lads who attended bringing their wayward fists.

That was in the 1970s and this is now. Why is this one abandoned and vandalised?

I expect the kids of today to be farting out behind their video consoles, and collectively contributing to our growing world obesity problem.

1_IMG_0040_1.jpg

We approached the building with caution; it's parallel to a dodgy council estate with plenty of would-be Karen's.

@anidiotexplores had primed it, so unless a lock had magically appeared on the front door, it was a walk-in.

It looked like a custom-made DIY building made solely for purpose. The one I joined was hosted in an old decaying church and nothing like this.

Walking inside did not result in a flood of nostalgia, it was another shit-tip heavily vandalised with few redeeming features.

2_IMG_0041_2.jpg

Studio 2 does look like it used to host magicians. I questioned @anidiotexplores who assured me that it was a Cub’s Hut in its final days.

3_IMG_0042_3.jpg

I can see the local kids held no fondness for it, though kicking down plasterboard thin walls in a mindless frenzy seems to be quite fashionable in today's youthful society.

4_IMG_0044_4.jpg

This indicates Girls were welcome. It was only Boys when I was a member, the Girls joined the Guides.

5_IMG_0045_5.jpg

It does look like a serving hatch. Pie and Peas is the traditional poor diet food handed out to stop you from freezing to death during our winters.

6_IMG_0046_6.jpg

Hardly the décor to suit a teenager, the cubs typically handled boys at ages less than 10. The mural was as good as it was going to get.

7_IMG_0047_7.jpg

8_IMG_0048_8.jpg

The main area was quite small, a contrast to my experience which was large enough to play ‘British Bulldogs’ where you would get intentionally tripped up by the bigger lads when trying to pass them.

9_IMG_0049_9.jpg

What better place to start a fire than in something quite combustible? I can’t see ‘The Cubs Hut’ lasting for much longer, especially as it’s in close proximity to the late ‘White Lion' which suffered a recent fatal arson attack.

10_IMG_0051_10.jpg

Yes, it's scraping the bottom of the barrel; the sign miraculously had not been ripped away from the wall by frenetic, delirious youths in search of fulfillment.

11_IMG_0052_11.jpg

If I thought I may find any paperwork here, I would be mistaken. Toilet parts however could be attained quite freely and in large quantities.

12_IMG_0053_12.jpg

We left ‘The Cubs Hut' hoping it was not going to set a precedent for that days' exploring when it came to quality.

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Community on HIVE.

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png

TalesLogo.JPG

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, rehive, engage me or all of these things.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center