Tales of the Urban Explorer: Insanity!

As I have been absolutely caning Urbex lately, you are going to see a lot of it from me for some time.

With @bingbabe working at least one weekend day every week that gives me some time to be a big kid again and indulge in this mindless activity that has got its claws in me.

7_IMG_2734_7.jpg

I say ‘mindless’ as I can’t quite understand that at my age why I am crawling through holes, jumping 6 feet drops, swinging on ropes, climbing walls and occasionally picking up the odd injury.

This is just so I can enter some decrepit building to take some photographs and then get the fuck out before anyone notices.

Saturday or Sunday has turned into a regular all-day affair with myself and @dizzydiscovery, (who is certified madder than me) visiting around TEN places throughout the day intent on infiltrating their protective boundaries.

1_IMG_2728_1.jpg

...'could you see yourself living the dream in luxury perched up there somewhere?'...

As a side-effect I have a LOT of content piled up, waiting to be processed and edited. Once a location has been ‘done’, it feels like a nock on the bedpost has been chiselled out.

Forgive me for the analogy, but it’s like a young bloke shagging a hot chick and then leaving in the morning, never to be seen again. To put it plainly, you never want to go back once it’s done.

I don’t know what I can do to cure me of this condition, and I can’t understand why it has happened. @grindle will be able to understand just what I mean, and maybe @furious-one, two of the more prolific content producers within the HIVE Urban Exploration community.

Take this example (cover picture). This is Wood Top Mill, a rather ugly looking old place with only a small section of it left.

5_IMG_2732_5.jpg

Most of Wood Top Mill has been demolished which leaves big holes such as the above with gaping entrances.

As you may guess the door has been placed there by someone else who has either tried or failed to climb up there.

The trick is to climb on those extra stable bricks, place your foot on that metal thing that bends, then on to the top of the door and jump pulling yourself up.

As doors are generally 6 feet in height, you can get a feeling that it's around 12 feet up and then some more climbing to get in.

On top of that, there are some spiky bits of metal embedded into the wall that can quite easily gut you on the way up and especially on the way down.

6_IMG_2733_6.jpg

So why did we grab the ladders and attempt to get in this shitty looking building?

With @dizzydiscovery holding the ladder bottom I climbed up tentatively to peer inside. I remember seeing a ‘No Exit’ sign and feeling smooth tiles on my fingers.

There was nowhere to grip and considering the ladders were perched on a plethora of loose bricks, orange peel, used slimy condoms, and anything else besides stability, we decided it may not be wise to check this one out.

How we would get down? I guess there is a mite of common sense left inside my head after all!

RedLine.png

Do you like posting your Urbex content and photography for FREE on Facebook and YouTube? I like to get some form of reward for my work and every time I create I do just that. Take a look at The Urbex Commmunity on HIVE

If you want to keep creating for FREE then ignore what you are reading. If you want to be like me and gain something other than BUGGER ALL for your work then click here and learn about posting on the HIVE blockchain.

RedLine.png


CurieCurator.jpg

RedLine.png

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center