Emotions: Scared (I almost got robbed)

On Thursdays, our lectures starts by 7am. Yesterday, I left home as early as 6:00am as usual. I've journeyed for about 30 minutes and I was just few blocks to the school gate. When I noticed something unusual. My sixth sense told me something was wrong.


Image source


To skip the whole suspicious act to the format the robbers used:

(They staged a scene where) A bike man carrying two guys and arguing with them about payment, like

Guy 1: " I won't accept that amount, tell me now before I carry you..."

(he will pause and drive closer to me as I was walking, he will pause again and argue with his so-called passengers on amount.)

All while driving towards me I began to suspect But I doubted them that they were ordinary people else I should have just ran into the campus. I wasn't 100% sure that they were thieves.

With my little suspicion, I took my phone (I was holding it in my hands) and kept it in my bag, zipped the bag and fastened the bag tight to body as I usually do, that would make the bag more firm to my body. Next thing, the bike just zoomed to my side and the two guys jumped down, one immediately grabbing me by my shirt. One held me by the cloth at the back, while the second one was in my front and I was in the middle.


Image source

All this started happening about 6:33am, I checked my time before putting my phone in the bag. The street was dry, so there's no one to shout to for help.

The one who held my cloth kicked me and I fell down with my back and landed hard, the second one tried to pull my bag off. I couldn't see clearly, every thing seemed blurry. But my Brain quickly processed that they were not armed.

As he pulled the bag off, while I was still down, I grabbed it back with one hand and swing one blow out to the second guy who was bending, the blow touched him and gave me a window to stand up and run but my bag was still in the first guy's grip. I knew i had no choice, I immediately gave the one holding the bag a blow to the neck and he released the bag, but before I could run, the second one was already close to me.


Image source


Before he could reach me to grab me down, I escaped and ran into the university campus ( I had already had bruises)

Them seeing me run into the restaurant they thought I went into hiding from them. I went directly to the campus security guard and explained to him, he then followed me to the gate where I was almost robbed.

Funny enough, we met them there. They were most likely waiting for a next victim ( we came back and met them at the same spot I was attacked). On seeing me and the security man, they all fled the scene.

This was how I escaped being a victim of robbery. It is a very scary experience. Thank God for the little confidence in me, if I hadn't fought back, my phone and other belongings in my bag would have been stolen.

Moral lesson:

Always pray to God for protection. I was grateful they weren't armed. Don't loose guard, be ready to release the beast in you when in such situations.

Thanks for reading

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center