A New Bike For Me!

Greetings community! So after my weekend rock climbing in Krabi it seems my good luck has continued! A Thai girl I know called me and told me she was moving house and cleaning out her garage. At the back gathering dust was a bicycle that her ex had left behind years ago and would I like it? Well sure I said and went on over there expecting to find some rotting old mountain bike from Decathlon or other similar mid range crappy bike. I mean who after all would leave behind a bloody expensive carbon fibre triathlon bike behind in their ex's garage.....!

IMG_20220407_181342.jpg

What a beauty! I had to spend a little money on her but not much all things considered, two new tyres, a new chain and some new brake cables, a full service and 300$ later I got a brand new light-as-a-feather carbon fibre road bike. Awesome! Mostly I bomb trails in mud and rocks so having a bike like this to add to my cache of weapons is super cool. I called my buddy and said get over here bro, we going road biking!

IMG_20220407_175452.jpg

IMG_20220407_182307.jpg

Just 5 minutes from my place here in Phuket is a wonder ful 7km loop around a dam. Its more or less closed to traffic and is a popular spot for runners, walkers, skaters and cyclists. Often I just do a few lazy laps if I dont feel like trail riding or if I'm with friends that don't go off piste. The route is awesome because its flat and shady and has no traffic. At this time of year the dam is full and it really is a picturesque ride. Around the dam are little coffeeshops you can stop for a cold drink or in our case a beer! Hahaha! I don't see anything wrong with a little mid ride cerveza!

IMG_20220407_183105.jpg

I really liked the bike though I suspect it may be a fraction small for me. It has the gear shifters combined with the break levers which was a new thing for me. I think it works pretty well. She is defo the lightest bike I have ever ridden and I found I was able to power up hills effortlessly (even after a beer). We did just 3 laps around the dam so ony about 20km plus a couple of km each way to and from home. Here are another 2 funny photos that I feel epitomises a bike ride round the dam in Phuket.....

Just someone selling Tamarind and garlic - just what you want after exercising!

IMG_20220407_181157.jpg

Need a cold drink and don't feel like a beer!? Well celery and carrot juice of course! This is why I never bring my own water when I ride around the dam...

IMG_20220407_181415.jpg

The bike is awesome and have to say a big and special thanks to my good friend Tik who refused to take any money for it. She was simply glad to get rid of it and I'm so excited to own a real street machine!

IMG_20220407_182602.jpg

I'm jobiker and free bikes are the best kind! Peace!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center