Insect Portrait Project: Personal Highlights

Its time for another update to my Personal Photography Project.

You can check out this post for a more detailed explanation, but essentially my aim with this is to show you some pictures of invertebrates, and by using the simple black background you can appreciate how beautiful they are.

Previous Themes:
Spiders
Butterflies
'Green'
'Moth Trap Finds'

For this post there is no linking theme, other than these are some of the images I really like, or I think show the individual animal off to its best

Earwig0004PP.jpg
Common European Earwig - Forficula auricularia

Quite possibly the image I love most out of all these portraits, it took 20 minutes of waiting for the Earwig to stop running around all over the place, and when he did stop, he posed beautifully!

Elephant Hawkmoth8651PP.jpg
Elephant Hawkmoth - Deilephila elpenor

One of my favourite moths, and the one I always choose to show to people when they try to convince me that moths are small and brown and boring. This species, with its flamboyant Pink and green colours is anything but!

Ypsolopha sequella0030PP.jpg
Micro Moth - Ypsolopha sequella

Another smart little moth, this is one of the micro moths, and you can see here he may be small but he has a distinctive, and attractive, pied appearance. Pied means black and white if you didnt know... 😉

Red and Black Froghopper0035PP.jpg
Red-and-black Froghopper - Cercopis vulnerata

Another distinctive species, with a rather unimaginative name if I'm honest. Its a type of bug (Heteroptera) and is closely related to other leafhoppers and planthoppers. They jump large distances to avoid being eaten, but I'm not sure why 'frog' is referenced. The 'Red and Black' part of the name is fairly obvious haha


While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces

More of these images can be seen on my Website

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency