Spider Portraits: Check out these Awesome Arachnids!

Jumping Spider  attulus pubescens7561PP.jpg
Jumping Spider Attulus pubescens

Spiders are just as amazing as any other invertebrate, so its only fair I take 'proper' pictures of them too! I'll start with this little Jumping Spider Attulus pubescens, and with their two large eyes at the front of the head, they are generally considered more attractive to look at than other spiders. Some people would say 'cute' but personally that is a step too far for me.

Jumping Spider  attulus pubescens7557PP.jpg
Jumping Spider Attulus pubescens

They have large eyes because they actively hunt their prey such as small flies. These jumping spiders are the only group of insects who actually seem to look back at you. As I lean in to take the picture, I swear they actually look at the camera pointing at them.

Nigma Spider0002PP.jpg
Nigma walckenaeri

Next up is a another tiny spider Nigma walckenaeri. At only 5 mm long it is the same size as the previous Jumping Spider, and its bright green colours make it excellent camouflage when it wanders around green leaves.

Nigma Spider0004PP.jpg
Nigma walckenaeri

All of these portrait images that I take of invertebrates are quite time consuming, and that is because they are 'wild animals' so I have to wait for them to move into the right position (and face the right way too!). Fortunately these little green spiders are professional models, and after less than 5 minutes I had the shots I wanted, and released him back outside.

Enoplognatha sp  Candy striped Spider90220.2x.jpg
Comb-footed Spider Enoplognatha sp

The next one however, was an absolute amateur! The basic idea behind the set-ups is I place the indivdual on the surface for the photo, and cover him with a small plastic pot. After a few minutes after he has stopped walking around, I lift the pot up, take a picture and then place the pot down again. This can take a couple of attempts until the individual is facing the right way...

...well this Comb-footed Spider (Enoplognatha sp) was having none of it! EVERY time he stopped moving he kept facing the wrong way!

Don't get me wrong, the markings and colouration on his abdomen were really interesting, but it wasn't the picture I was after.

Enoplognatha sp  Candy striped Spider9035PP.jpg
Comb-footed Spider Enoplognatha sp

It took nearly 25 minutes of patience (and plenty of muttering under my breath) but I finally got the shot I was after. A quick check of the back of the camera and yep the pictures were sharp and well lit. Job done, I breathed a sigh of relief, and then I promptly released the little diva back outside again.

Enoplognatha sp  Candy striped Spider9032PP.jpg
Comb-footed Spider Enoplognatha sp


All species identifications checked via the Wikispecies website

All individuals were looked after released back in the location they were found after I got the pictures I needed

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency