My name is Elena. This is my introduction to Hive (ESP-ENG)

Hola a toda la comunidad. Me llamo Elena Bristol Ávila. Nací un 30 de julio de 1963 en la provincia de Granma (Cuba). Soy la hija mayor de cinco hermanos, dentro de una familia maravillosa. Mi padre era un hombre con grandes valores y muy inteligente.

My name is Elena Bristol Ávila. I was born on 30 July 1963 in the province of Granma (Cuba). I am the eldest daughter of five siblings in a wonderful family. My father was a man with great values and very intelligent.

Image of me taken by @estilodereba.

Comencé a estudiar lejos de mi familia a los 6 años. Cursé la primaria en dos escuelas excelentes. Gracias a la ayuda de mi familia y maestros, destaqué académicamente y me seleccionaron en varias ocasiones para representar a mi escuela en distintos concursos. Luego estuve tres años en secundaria, igualmente lejos de mi familia, así como también el preuniversitario. Esto me sirvió para convertirme en una persona totalmente independiente, persistente, valiente y fuerte, pues cuando era niña era temerosa de los animales y muy dependiente de mi papá, mi abuela y tíos.

I started studying away from my family at the age of 6. I attended two excellent primary schools. Thanks to the help of my family and teachers, I excelled academically and was selected on several occasions to represent my school in various competitions. I then spent three years in secondary school, also away from my family, as well as pre-university. This helped me to become a totally independent, persistent, brave and strong person, because as a child I was afraid of animals and very dependent on my father, grandmother and uncles.

Along with several work colleagues when I started working.

Becada y rodeada de buenos maestros, hice buenos amigos que me ayudaron a aliviar el dolor que sentía por estar lejos de mi familia. También y junto a esos amigos, aprendí nuevas habilidades como chapear, sembrar, recoger frutas y regar plantaciones con sistemas de riego.

With a scholarship and surrounded by good teachers, I made good friends who helped me alleviate the pain of being away from my family. Together with these friends, I also learned new skills such as mowing, planting, picking fruit and irrigating plantations with irrigation systems.


Académicamente, era una joven de buenas calificaciones, lo que me permitió estudiar la carrera que quise. Siempre me fascinó la psicopedagogía y cursé la carrera por cuatro años, obteniendo calificaciones excelentes. La gente me ven como una persona inteligente, pero en aquella época no me veía a mí misma así. Mis profesores querían que estudiara medicina, pero yo siempre quise trabajar con niños que no podían valerse por sí mismos, por no haber nacido en hogares con familias preparadas.

Academically, I was a young girl with good grades, which allowed me to study the career I wanted. I was always fascinated by psycho-pedagogy and I studied for four years, getting excellent grades. People see me as an intelligent person, but at that time I didn't see myself that way. My teachers wanted me to study medicine, but I always wanted to work with children who couldn't look after themselves because they were not born into homes with well-prepared families.


Together with work colleagues.

Al graduarme, estuve entre los primeros escalafones y, en aquella época te mandaban a trabajar a una provincia distinta a la de tu residencia. Fue una experiencia inolvidable. Pasé mucho trabajo porque estuve dos años alejada de mi hogar. A veces regresaba a casa los fines de semana, muchas otras veces me quedaba sola en la residencia donde me alojada, o algunos de mis compañeros de trabajo me llevaban a su casa para pasar el tiempo con ellos.

When I graduated, I was among the first in the ranks and, at that time, you were sent to work in a province other than the one where you lived. It was an unforgettable experience. I had a lot of work to do because I was away from home for two years. Sometimes I would go home on weekends, many times I would stay alone in the residence where I was staying, or some of my colleagues would take me to their home to spend time with them.


Todos los niños que empezaron conmigo estaban inicialmente en cero, apenas podían hablar. Eran hijos de personas muy humildes, pero con muchos valores humanos. Trabajé con ellos muy duro, y logré que ocuparan el primer lugar en sus respectivas escuelas. Para llevar a cabo esta labor, contaba con el respaldo de una auxiliar que hasta el día de hoy, nunca he olvidado. Nada en esa época podría olvidar, porque fue muy dura y a la vez gratificante.

All the children who started with me were initially at zero, they could barely speak. They were children of very humble people, but with a lot of human values. I worked very hard with them, and I managed to get them to the top of their respective schools. To carry out this work, I had the support of an assistant that I have never forgotten to this day. Nothing in that time I could ever forget, because it was very hard and at the same time rewarding.


Allí, aprendí a montar a caballo por primera vez porque quería visitar las condiciones en las que vivían mis niños. Algunos residían en las montañas. Fue una bella experiencia, aunque algunos lugares eran inaccesibles para mí. Amé a esos niños y me resultó muy duro abandonarlos cuando me llegó la hora de volver a mi casa, pues ya había concluido mi servicio social.

There, I learned to ride a horse for the first time because I wanted to visit the conditions in which my children lived. Some of them lived in the mountains. It was a beautiful experience, although some places were inaccessible to me. I loved those children and it was very hard for me to leave them when it was time for me to go back home, as I had finished my social service.


Together with one of my patients, celebrating his birthday and improvement.

Hace 29 años que trabajo en el sector de la salud, compensando y rehabilitado a niños con discapacidades parciales o totales, desde el punto de vista intelectual, en colaboración total con la familia que es el principal estimulador. En mi consulta, evaluamos a los niños desde que nacen para detectar algún retardo cognitivo y lograr recuperarlos a través de un equipo multidisciplinario que comprende: un cardiólogo, genetista, oftalmólogo, estomatólogo, fisiatra, pediatra, técnico en rehabilitación y psicopedagogo. Este equipo logra una calidad de vida alta de los infantes y mi labor comprende estimular los procesos cerebrales a través de varias actividades hasta que se recuperan. Además, me encargo de hacer un seguimiento de los discapacitados severos. En ocasiones, es muy difícil, pero lo más gratificante es ver un niño totalmente recuperado.

I have been working in the health sector for 29 years, compensating and rehabilitating children with partial or total disabilities, from an intellectual point of view, in total collaboration with the family who is the main stimulator. In my practice, we evaluate children from birth in order to detect any cognitive delay and achieve their recovery through a multidisciplinary team that includes: a cardiologist, geneticist, ophthalmologist, stomatologist, physiatrist, paediatrician, rehabilitation technician and psychopedagogue. This team achieves a high quality of life for the infants and my work involves stimulating the brain processes through various activities until they recover. In addition, I am in charge of following up severely disabled children. Sometimes it is very difficult, but the most rewarding thing is to see a child fully recovered.


Together with work colleagues.

Ya estoy en edad de jubilación. No obstante, sigo trabajando y haciendo cosas nuevas. Por ejemplo, me he unido a Hive por medio de mi hija @estilodereba y aquí pretendo compartir mis conocimientos y experiencias con las comunidades. Espero que haya sido de su agrado leerme y les agradezco si desean votarme o comentarme. Saludos.

I am already at retirement age. However, I am still working and doing new things. For example, I have joined Hive through my daughter @estilodereba and here I intend to share my knowledge and experiences with the communities. I hope you enjoyed reading me and I thank you if you would like to vote for me or comment. Regards.


I translated by means of the deepl

All images are my property

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center