Metal Detecting Adventures Ep. 6 - Trash to Treasure!

Digging Through the Trash

While metal detecting the back yard of my 1892 farmhouse I came across an area that was like a minefield of various beeps and ear screeching tones. After digging a few of these signals, I found that the dirt was pitch black and contained pieces of tin foil, broken glass, and other odds and ends. What I realized was that I was digging through someone's burnt trash.

Most of us in the States forget that years ago there wasn't an option to have a loud, wake you up at the ass crack of dawn, garbage truck to haul off your trash. Back then you had a couple options for "trash service", find a large pit somewhere to dump it, or burn and bury it.

Apparently, the previous stewards of my home decided on the latter option. But really, what treasure hunter worth their salt would be deterred by someone's old trashpile .... I can't be the only detectorist that secretly thinks they're Indiana Jones right?! Right?! (Author seeking some validation here)

So I saddled up, put on my trusty Harbor Freight, .99 cent, Gloves of Protection +1, and dove headfirst into the trash.

After hours and hours of digging out tin foil, glass, old chicken bones, and God knows what else I found some really interesting treasures.

A 1951 Silver Half-Dollar

I really like the burn mark on Benjamin Franklin's face! It adds character and story to the find.

An Intricate Silver Spoon and Buckle

Two Wheat Pennies - 1913 and 1911 or 1914

And A Creepy Head

It later occurred to me that putting the burnt decapitated head of a creepy doll inside my house was probably not my best idea....

I hope you enjoyed Ep. 6 of my Metel Detecting Adventures. Please give me an Upvote if you'd like to see more of this series. And keep digging those holes!

Nerd-Minion

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now