The Joy of Convalescence

Convalescence-- Now that's one word I'm too familiar with. The first time I got sick, really got sick, was when I was three. My mom has told me so much about it sometimes I feel like I actually remember. How she rushed me everywhere--to pastors clinics and hospitals--and how there was no improvement for a long time.

image.jpeg

But her best part, the part she tells with the most happiness, is the part about my convalescence. According to her I was fast asleep, and suddenly I jumped up from bed, walked towards her like a drill sergeant, and said, with the widest grin and an adorable cadence like that of the child I was,

Mummy I'm healthy now. Mummy I'm healthy now

image.gif

Now she had been sad, and heavy and downtrodden, so imagine how she would have felt. I can't imagine there's a better feeling.

George Bernard Shaw said about convalescence, It is the part that makes the illness worth it. But having had as much bouts with illnesses as I have, I can't help but think Mr. Shaw was wrong. What makes the illnesses worth it, the only thing, is of course HEALTH!

If you ask me that is why people fall sick, so that in the end they might recognize the value of health. How priceless it is! Worth more than all the bitcoins and all the ethers and all the Steem of the world!

So as we approach the end of the year, I hope we can all cherish the fact that we are healthy! Wealth and riches and gold and bitcoins and Steems, those things will come. But first, you have to stay healthy--and appreciate the fact!

image.jpeg

Thank you. Don't forget to comment resteem or upvote!

Image Sources:
getholistichealth.com
shutterstock.com
mauihealth.com

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center