How I was able to treat over 1000 children of ringworm in Nigeria

images (17).jpg

As a humanitarian and medical professional, my love to reach lives is driven by the kind of country and economy I live in, If you've ever visited the Sub-saharan Africa, you will know that many children are at stake in terms of health. I am a clinical pharmacologist and during my NYSC mandatory service year, I was posted to a rural community.
images (18).jpg

THE CHALLENGE TO BASIC NEEDS OF LIVE
I discovered the people there had various challenges and some of which was access to good water, light, and basic Health. The place was mostly affected by the desert wind that comes from the Saharan region and the children who play often in the dust are affected by so many diseases and one of which was ring worm. I observed that alot of the near by villagers had their children affected with this and I was moved to do something.

GETTING FUNDED

That's me in one of the schools where I treated most of these children. I sort out for funding from different places and teamed up with other health personals and embarked on treating this disease that is ravaging the community. We started by enlightening the community through seminars
DSC05346.JPG

The community was made up of 10 different schools located in very rural places where access with a car is not possible, we used bicycles sometimes to get through.
DSC06587.JPG

This project took us about 6 months to complete

DSC04228.JPG

Outside the treatment, we were able to share school bags, samples, and uniforms to most of the children which made the community happy and grateful
images (20).jpg

SHOW SOME LOVE
so I was fulfilled at the end of the program, to see over 1000 children treated of this disease was a relief. And since steemit is a community of value, I believe that where ever you find yourself, you will be able to make sacrifices inaking the lives of others better. Due to the kind of country I come from, I have decided to make every effort to impact lives in the little ways I can.

I shall keep sharing most of our stories and challenges from this part of the world so that you can also be able to reach lives where ever you are.
DSC07373.JPG

That's me and some of my college helped me out during the process.

You can follow me for more updates if you enjoy what you've read.

Thanks!

Jericent

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now