Some Suggestions Which Might Help With Restless Sleep

Do you suffer from restless nights? Are you unable to sleep soundly? Here are some suggestions which might help you.

Lots of things can keep you awake. You might be too hot or cold, you might have something on your mind or you might be worrying about not sleeping and feeling drained the next day.

This is what used to happen to me sometimes. I'd go to sleep quite easily at bedtime, then I'd wake up a little while later usually after only two hours sleep. Try as I might I couldn't drop off again. Now I have this little routine for going back to sleep. It might work for you too.

  • I get up and repeat my night-time routine - having a bath, winding down with a book, cleaning my teeth, whatever I normally do. Afterwards, I go to bed for the second time. This is quite a good method if I don't have to get up early the next day.

  • I program my favourite music for half an hour. I often drop off listening to it and it switches itself off. I also have a CD of relaxing music I can use in the same way. I get good sleep from this.

  • Should none of the above work, I try stretching and relaxing my legs, followed by deep breathing. I breathe in through my nose and release the breath slowly through my mouth. I do this because I heard on TV that it works but I don't get much success from it.

  • My last resort that I only turn to if all else fails is to get up and cook a breakfast. 'Breakfast at midnight' is what I call it. I'm so exhausted by the time I reach this point that it usually is successful. At the very least, it takes my mind off not sleeping.

Can you add any good advice? Please leave it in the comments if you can :)

Thank you for viewing!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center