9.1 Billion Tons of Plastic, 9% of it Has Been Recycled

Since 1950s, 9.1 billion tons of plastic has been produced, only 9% of it has been recycled.

Many news publications have been putting out articles on this, rewriting it in their own way. I think the scariest of them has to be from National Geographic. Instead of just comparing it to some large city, all they said was "91% of plastic hasn't been recycled."

Too me, that's the most shocking, 91% of plastic goes unrecycled... Crazy? How long can this go on for? How long can we keep making products that purposely fail, so consumers have to go out and buy them within a few years time.

Bill Burr did a piece about this on roller blades we eat from the 90s, I would not be surprised if that's true. I love how Burr related Steve Jobs to the unrecycled rollerblades, the relation? Well like Burr said, capitalist(buddhist) CEOs that make new phones that can't fit the old charger. I knew what bill Burr was getting at from the get go. My question to you is, how can one be a capitalist and a Buddhist at the same time? Steve jobs is a walking contradiction, yet so many people looked up to this idiot! 

I have theory on all this, it's been rolling around in my head for quite some time... It's that the 1%ers will basically find a new planet and just leave us with this one. And all the cost will go to us, just like how they bailed out capitalism and these corporations with tax payer's money. If you consider how much money goes into black projects within the military industrial complex, this could very much happen without us knowing it. Considering the premise of a lot of these movies, like Elysium. I know I'm not the only one that thinks this!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now