Apple Cider Vinegar: Is it good for us?

Brief Introduction

I can't tell you wether you should or shouldn't drink it or mix it into teas or waters for your own benefits, but personally I find it beneficial. The taste really isn't bad when mixed into a water or tea drink either. So what are the pros and cons?

Pros

Personally I use it as a detox, but it has many uses for many people. Some of those are:

High in acetic acid and can kill many types of bacteria.

Lowers blood sugar which can be beneficial to diabetics.

Can help lose weight and lower cholesterol (reduce risk of heart disease).

Cons

Personally I haven't had any of these issues except possibly the low blood sugar levels, but I'm a "diabetic" that has regulated my own blood sugar without medication for about 1.5 years now and I have no issues with that. Here is the possible side effects that I have seen listed (most of these are from extreme over usage and not periodic and occasional usage):

Tissue damage.

Lowers potassium levels in the body.

High acidity may lower bone density, damage teeth, and give you a sore throat.

Can apparently interact with certain drugs and lower blood sugar.

How I mix it

I use a half liter bottle of water and a sugar-free flavor pack when I want to drink apple cider vinegar, the measurements aren't exact, but I'd say I use about 1 oz of apple cider vinegar per half liter bottle of water. The flavor pack masks most of the vinegar taste and I get the benefits that I want. I usually only drink these 3-4 times per week.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now