I just had a stroke!

Thank God for speech to text as this is being written by it it even though my speech is slurred it is doing an excellent job. All my life up to this point I have spent a great deal of time researching health issues and how to prevent events as like just what happened to me. It is not giving me any comfort in this moment to recognize that I did not prevent this event. Even though my speech is slurred the text-to-speech feature is working excellently. My stroke took place in the right thalamus portion of the brain. my stroke event started about 3 a.m. in the morning with the residual damage showing up this morning. I can't believe how easily I get tired. At least I'm not struggling to put sentences together to deliver this message/warning..

They tell me my recovery will take about 6 months. being an impatient person anyway that is at least 6 months too long. Thank God I have a wife who loves me and is there for me every minute and has been for 48 years of marriage so far. I used to tell her that if as this (a stroke) ever happened just simply pin my War medals to my chest and drop me off at the nearest Veterans Administration Hospital. Although I can still do a few things for myself I need her help for dressing and we'll need it for yard I can no longer do. At this point I wish we had moved into a condominium. My son has offered to help with yard work so that is a relief. Thank goodness can still wipe my own tush.

I have no idea what the future holds for my recovery I'm very glad I have friends and family and wife to help me through it. The problem with my situation is that although I knew what to do health-wise I didn't do it. I think we are all a little bit that way in that we know what we should be eating and drinking but it is too much fun to do the opposite.

I had recently lost 45 lb and was able to get off a blood pressure medication, but I gained back 15 pounds of that loss and I was checking my blood pressure which had been increasing slowly. And then bang! Out of the blue I get a stroke. Surprise surprise!

It Is very frustrating when you tell your left hand to do something and it refuses to do so. I'm going to start using a walker to safely get around the house. As my recoveryunfolds I hope to share it with you step by step.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center