The Old Dog Asks: Is Gluttony Always a Bad Thing? Have You Hugged a Street Cleaner Today?

Gluttony has long been thought of in a negative way. No wonder, take a look at how it's defined:

glutton: ˈ

  •  an excessively greedy eater. 
  • synonyms: overeater, gorger, binge eater, big eater, pig, greedy pig, hog


Don't Let Pre-Conceived Notions Fool You!

A few days ago I had the pleasure of acting as tour guide to a young couple who were visiting me from Ontario, Canada. While exploring the city of Lugano they both marveled its cleanliness. 

I'm sorry to say that this is not because there are no litter bugs in the area. The streets are regularly strewn with countless cigarette butts, jettisoned wrappers, and bits and scraps of every nature! All  disgusting, but that's a story for another day!

Lugano is clean because it is swept clean each and every day by a small crew of dedicated and unsung heroes. Since last year this crew has a new weapon and we should all be thrilled.


Not a speck of dirt to see anywhere in the city of Lugano thanks to this glutton! No not him, it!

Enter The Good Glutton That Should be Admired!

This super electric machine is small, nimble, almost silent and able to suck up virtually anything it "sees"! I watched the operator in amazement as he was able to extract butts and scraps from every nook and cranny along his cobbled route.

Years ago I'd seen a much less efficient and very noisy gas powered street vacuum but this thing takes it to another level!


The Street Cleaner was more than happy to give me a demonstration of how this Glutton works! Impressive!

Advantages of The Glutton

  • Greater efficiency for cleaning teams (Lugano is cleaner than ever with these things)
  • Environmentally friendly with the electric version being almost silent!
  • Removes more dirt than sweeping without causing airborne dust!
  • With its narrow width (0.75m), the Glutton can go more or less anywhere  
  • 12 hours of autonomy in normal usage for the Glutton Electric  
  • An ambidextrous suction pipe means no prejudice against left handers!
  • Designed for maximum user comfort 
  • A flashing light and other safety lights ensure visibility 
  • The suction strength enables the user to avoid any contact with refuse 
  • Cleaning personnel are motivated and feel more valued in their work.    

This Video is Actually Very Impressive!

The Street Cleaner That I Interviewed Today Was Thrilled!

While speaking with the man that I saw using the machine today he told me that it has made his job a lot easier and that he found it simple to use and very efficient. I told him what my tourist friend had said about Lugano being so clean and that I appreciate the great work that he is doing. He was grinning from ear to ear!

The next time that you see or hear the word glutton don't jump to conclusions, it might just be a very good thing!

What do You Think?

  • Are you impressed with this machine?
  • Are they in use where you live?
  • Would we even need them if people would stop littering?


I hope that you enjoyed this article about "Is Gluttony Always a Bad Thing?"


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, if you upvote my post and leave a comment I will do my best to upvote it with some of my almost 43,000 Steem Power! 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center