Roof Top To Table

I used to post about baking and my journey creating baked goodies here on Hive but I had to stop because of the minor operation done on my trigger finger. Needless to say that I can no longer knead doughs but that would not deter me to look for other meaningful ways to keep me busy each day. I found gardening to be equally rewarding and therapeutic and that is how I got started.

image.png

I used a small area in my roof top to grow vegetables from pots and containers. These are bokchoi green leafies growing from plastic pots. I also have tomato seedlings growing on pet bottles in the background

I do not have the green thumb and gardening is something I let my other siblings do but I was surprised one day that I had been into it quickly. One realization I had is growing my own food. Something that I had been thinking for a very long time but did not have that interest or time to explore. Anyway, Isn't that amazing? growing your food with minimal cost and less trip to the grocery store?. A lot of people are switching to this kind of lifestyle and interest as this ensures that your food is safe, free from pesticides and healthier. These are the main reasons why I kept learning about gardening. Watching tutorials online is my go to and there are some friends I get to ask should I need advice. It is more of that peer to peer sharing of best practices. Then I get to apply those little nuggets of ideas into my own small garden.

image.png
these are leaves of bokchoi grown from a seed packet waiting to be used on my chicken soup

I am happy to share with you my Hive friends that this is one of the most rewarding hobby for me just like my first love, baking. Most baked goodies though are now bad for my health and my doctor is advising me to refrain from consuming them. That is so sad for me to know but hey the new hobby of gardening is better as the fruits of my labor is better in terms of health benefits.

And now, after a few weeks or months, the bokchoi are used for my chicken soup. Here is a photo of that. They taste sweet just like the carrots. Delicious and flavorful. This is the kind of hobby I see myself doing everyday. The rewards and benefits are truly amazing.
image.png
A basic chicken soup using the bokchoi harvest

I will try to post more as my time is now consumed mostly by gardening and watching tutorials online. Thank you for reading this blog and I am glad to be a part of the gardenjournal community.

Keep discovering. Satisfy your curiosity and never get tired learning new things

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center