Bugs Vs. Bugs For A Healthy Garden

20170712_180434.jpg

A couple months ago I purchased a package of 1500 live Ladybugs and two Praying Mantis egg cases with approximately 200 of the little critters yet to hatch. I did this to help out with the minor destructive insect problem I have had in the past. The Ladybugs were for controlling aphids and eating the larvae of other "bad" bugs. The Praying Mantis are also good predator insects that are a general blessing to the garden, plus they are just cool to look at.

20170427_172320.jpg

The Ladybugs went right to work upon release but I hadn't seen any evidence of the Praying Mantis until recently. Now they have been making regular appearances throughout the garden and seem to be working hard just like the Ladybugs as my destructive insect issues seem much lighter so far this year.

Growing my garden without the use of pesticides is extremely important to me and organic methods like this are a great alternative to the harmful poisons that many seem to use without any concern or thought to the environment or their own health.

I hope you will consider using organic methods like this one in your garden. Thanks For Reading!

To read about some other organic methods for saving your garden from destructive insects that I've written about go to: http://smalltownhomestead.com/planning-a-destructive-insect-resistant-garden/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center