The Cukes In My Container Garden - Harvest Time

Hello all Steemians!

Today, I am sharing a post about my four potted cukes ... I had one from the upper terrace that was now totally harvested, I had 4 cukes from there and today , I would like to show you how the rest of the three potted ones are doing. They are in the garden downstairs, potted of course. It isn´t that bad that I placed them in the garden because I was afraid that the slugs would munch-off the plant. But it make sense i gathered... I didn´t think that the stems or the vein of the cukes are full of those spike-like surface ....so that it is very difficult for the slugs to move upwards to attack the plant... they didn´t even try to climb to the pots which was a good sign.

cuke 13.jpg

The flowers of the cukes are the most incredible yellow flowers I have seen, the color yellow is so vivid and the flowers convey great vibes... They attract many bees as well as butterflies all of which help in the pollination process.

cuke 10.jpg

cuke 5.jpg

cuke 8.jpg

cuke 11.jpg

From the first plant, I harvested 4 cukes, they are not the long variety that have smooth skin, they are rather robust, heavy and with lots of seeds. But they tasted very good!

20180709_175737.jpg

cuke 3.jpg

20180726_111708.jpg

I am expecting to harvest soon so i think my daily salad is saved and won´t have to buy from the supermarket at the moment.

cuke 14.jpg

Have you ever tried cuke juice? ... But just in case you are planting the long variety you can make your juice by by pressing 1 grated long cucumber in a cloth wringing out the juice , add 1/2 lemon juice , ice cubes and voila!!! You´ll have a very refreshing summer drink as in the image below. The juice is a by product whenever I make the greek tzatziki dip... so nothing is wasted from this healthy vegetable. If you would like to make the tzatziki dip, you can get my recipe here

cuke juice.JPG

20180726_093349.jpg

I hope you´re having a nice sunny day to garden... keep up the green thumbs!

Proud Member
STEEMIT POWERUP.PH
Follow @steemitpowerupph

Footer Mers SPP.gif

Content and images on this post are original and are properties of the author. If you would like to use any of the photos from this post, please give source credits by linking the URL of this post in your content.

Footer.gif
GIF by @gremayo

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center