If we build it they will come. By they I mean rabbits, deer, moths, etc.

Our Garden

We went for it this year because we have the space. We are strictly non-gmo and organic so we went big because we lose a lot to pests.

I have a 40hp tractor and my neighbor gave me a 2 bottom plow and disks. I plowed and disked then hoed the rows by hand using stakes and string and I put in steel posts and wire for the tomatoes and sunflowers.

Most of the garden is tomatoes from heirloom variety seeds my wife harvested last year along with lots of peppers. We'll preserve most of it and give lots to friends and neighbors. The rest I won't know about until I'm told to go harvest.

We just started...

In September of last year after searching and planning our homestead for several years. My advice would be to toss most of your plans and just go do it and have fun. The land will tell you what to do. Hunting, goats, and garden have been the only things on our "list" that we've done so far but we have unexpectedly made pure maple syrup, root beer, butter, and cheese and have gathered Paw Paw fruit, mulberries, blackberries, hazelnuts, etc. and I think we've had more fun doing the unplanned things.

Speaking of that I better get back out there.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments