The Garden

I know I have mentioned the "garden" a few times in recent posts and I decided it is time to elaborate further. Last spring my wife stated that she wanted a "raised garden" and so I did a little bit of research and put one together for her. She's not known for having much of a green thumb and I've never tried. Well the only thing that really grew well last year was the okra plants and neither one of us care to much for okra. The cucumber plants grew well and flowered like crazy but the cucumbers never appeared.

Anyways here is a picture of our "garden" this year.
IMG_0600.JPG

So what's kinda funny is that, much to our surprise, a few things "survived." The "spicy" or "hot" oregano plant on the left, the rosemary plant to it's right, and the strawberry plants on the very right side of the garden. Now my wife's thought was that the cucumber flowers were never "pollenated" hence no cucumbers. This made sense to me so one day we were shopping as Costco and saw a "Swiss Alps Bee House" that is supposed to attract non-aggressive native bee pollinators and so we bought one.

IMG_0613.jpg

You can see where I placed it on the right side of the garden on the fence in the first photo. Anyways, I have yet to see any bees making their home there yet but I guess that it's still early. I do like the idea of contributing back to the environment and if some bees make it their home and prosper that can only be a good thing. So there's the story of the "garden."

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center