No Man's Sky | Diary of an Inter-Galactic Traveller - 008 - Accomplishments!

These are the records of the adventures I'm having in my favourite game right now, No Man's Sky. It is not only a beautiful game graphically, it is also one of a kind because of the technical innovation that went into making it possible to explore a near-infinite universe, with billions of unique planets. It also falls perfectly into my favourite genre fusion of art and science. I hope you enjoy it.

nms_thumbnail_008.jpg
 
Previous entries:
Entry 001 - Entry 002 - Entry 003 - Entry 004 - Entry 005 - Entry 006 - Entry 007


🌌 Dear Diary,

It has been an exciting and productive few hours!

The yearning feeling inside me to get out of this system and go explore the stars is slowly building up and I feel like I won't be able to contain it for much longer. I still have no idea who I am and why I exist. I need to get out there!

So I sorted out my inventory and then got to work! Several things needed doing, first of which was refueling my launch fuel tank, which required ferrite dust (for the metal plate) and di-hydrogen.

20181015115856_1.jpg

That was easy enough. Then I got to work, running over to my primitive little wooden base in order to finally build the blueprint analyser that my visor has been asking me to build for ages now. I realised I needed to prioritise this because it seems that my suit, ever since finding my ship, has had an itinerary programmed into it which seems to be guiding me in the right direction... I somehow feel like it will lead me to a way to build a hyperdrive, eventually.

After getting to the base though, I realised I had forgotten my magnetised ferrite in my ship, needed along with carbon nanotubes for the synthesising of the blueprint analyser. So I had to run down the hill again to get it.

2018-10-15 14_47_35-Window.jpg

No problem though... I was rewarded for my efforts... The blueprint analyser made available to me all sorts of useful building and equipment recipes. The one I was most interested in was the Base Portal, which apparently will allow me to teleport between my base and space stations! It used two salvaged technology modules, which I yet again had to go back to my ship for.

The Portal recipe was an ion battery, which I already had, and some ionised cobalt. Cobalt is plentiful on this planet, I knew, so I'd go get some as soon as morning came round again.

In the meantime though, I decided to continue with my visor's instructions: Go back to the Base computer.

2018-10-15 14_53_17-Window.jpg

And I was very glad I did. It had deciphered more of the encrypted files and there were more messages, now alluding to "The Travellers" and the number sequence, 16, 16, 16, 16. Curiosity drives me on now... Am I one of these Travellers? And will I ever find the mysterious entity that left the blueprints for this computer base for me to find?

It told me to go to the Space Station next, and I was about to jump into my ship to do just that when I thought, hold on... If I can get the portal contructed, I could get there without risking pirate attacks and using up fuel!

So I got to it... Cobalt was easy to find and the journey short and uneventful - that is, until I was almost back at base again. Suddenly my visor flashed red, warning me of a dangerous animal in proximity. After the initial adrenaline of fright, I felt a sudden thrill of excitement: The elusive 7th species! It's nocturnal! That's why I could never find it!

So I scanned it and let it live, as a thank you for my reward which I claimed later: 350 nanite clusters!

20181015121617_1.jpg

Things were looking up! I now had enough nanite clusters for 2 or 3 new technology modules buyable at the trade building, and I was about to build a portal in order to continue the visor's instructions mission!

I got back to base and synthesised the portal, only to be disappointed. There didn't seem to be any live connection. No matter though, I thought... I probably need to first activate something on the portal at the Space Station, so yes... I'll have to get in my ship and go there after all.

20181015123800_1.jpg

Before setting off though, when I got back to my ship, I instead went inside to speak to a certain technology module merchant ;) ... I think he's even warming up to me now, despite that cold, metal-and-lights exterior, because as I approached, he sat up and even waved to me with a few little excited bleeps coming from his face somewhere.

I bought three modules, and still had 97 nanite clusters to spare: The one that'll allow me to transfer things to and from my ship at a distance, one that will increase my hazard protection system's effectiveness, and one that boosts my running and jetpack ability. I still need to install these techs though, which require ingredients I don't have yet.

20181015124052_1.jpg

Anyway! I then set off in my ship, got out of the atmosphere, and pulse engined my way towards the Space Station. A 30-second journey. Thankfully by the time pirates noticed there was movement in the system, I was already very close to the station's gateway and so their scans failed.

I parked, got out into an otherwise empty docking bay lot, and went up to see if I could find the Korvax I was looking for.

20181015124357_1.jpg

I spoke to many of them, but none seemed to know what I was on about... A few of them did react oddly when I mentioned the number sequence I had been given... 16, 16, 16, 16. But otherwise they either ignored me or waved me away with annoyance.

But then I met one who immediately, upon hearing the sequence, starting acting strangely, before suddenly speaking in a language I could understand!

2018-10-15 15_27_04-Window.jpg

I quickly realised that it wasn't actually the Korvax entity that was speaking to me, but something else speaking through it, using it as a relay. It said, "We are watching you, Traveller friend! Find what we have left you."

It then transferred to me a set of coordinates after which the Korvax entity was back to its old self, looking a little perplexed, which is odd to see in a Korvax. But yes, exciting stuff! I wanted to see off to the coordinates right away, but then I remembered the portal and thought to look for one. And lo and behold, yes, there was on at the back of the station.

2018-10-15 15_29_07-Window.jpg

I approached it and interacted with it, only to be disappointed yet again. It gave me the same response as the portal back at base. I was obviously missing something important, but I didn't have the patience to try figuring it out - the mysterious coordinates awaited!

The ended up being on Vius, the radioactive planet I have slowly come to feel as my home. Long before landing, I saw from a disatance that the coordinates marked yet another freighter crash site, which made me nervous, considering what happened the last time I visited such a site.

Still, I had to do it! I just somehow knew that this would lead me towards the stars and closer to discovering who I was.

2018-10-15 15_40_23-Window.jpg

I landed at the designated landing spot and got out, not without flinching just a bit as I saw the radiation levels spike in my visor. But my hazard protection seemed to be doing its job, so I got out and approached the beacon.

2018-10-15 15_43_42-Window.jpg

I accessed the terminal and at first it seemed like it was only the crashed freighter's captain's logbook. Fighting disappointment, I opened it, but instead of the logfiles, a strange number sequence displayed before an even stranger message...

"The Anomaly comes for the stars. Take flight."

And after that, attached to the end of the message, was a tech module for a hyperdrive! I knew it! .. And the hyperdrive was not for a freighter, but for a smaller, conventional ship. It seems like someone left that message and module there, hoping for it to be found... They want me to build the hyperdrive, and want me to leave the system... To where?

I'm sitting here now, on top of a strange edifice that I found as I flew away from the freighter wreckage, more excited than ever. Who or what is the "Anomaly"? And what about these "Travellers"? And the Korvax race... How do they fit into all of this?

20181015125934_1.jpg

And were there any other races in the universe? ... Oh, and! What about these sentinels? What are they and why do they keep on appearing out of nowhere? What do they care whether I mine or kill?

So many questions without answers... I just can't wait to get out there!

20181015130338_1.jpg




Thank you for your upvote 🌌🌠
~~
A few recent posts of mine:
Ulog - 007 - Out and About | "Spicestar" - Gallery: Motifs | No Man's Sky - 007 - New Multi-Tool or Bust!
~~
If you'd like to support me further, or follow me elsewhere, I'm on these social media:
Patreon | Instagram | Facebook

Before using bidbots, consider that they are generally bad for the long-term health of the Steemit ecosystem, and that many manual curators will not consider posts using bidbots for curation. Instead, try joining communities, engaging authentically, and earning more and more organic votes over time =) ... The best post I've found explaining this controversial topic is by Luke Stokes - click here to go to his post.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now