"Small scale experiment" is going well! (over 30% profit already) :)

The "small scale experiment" I posted about a while ago is going rather well I think.

Take a look at the account I used, a simple account I created for the LOBSTR Stellar-wallet app on my phone.

LOBSTRaccountbalances.png

That Stellar-explorer page has a filter ability you can use to get it to list specific types of transaction, which I used to get it to list just the payments, so that I could total up all the incoming payments of Stellar Lumens (XLM) I had sent to the account.

As you can see I initially had sent 25 XLM when I started the account, then three times I sent ten more, then I sent 15, I see all that on the second page of the payments-filtered list the explorer page created for me. The first page of the readout, which showed most-recent transaction first, was mostly payments of 25 XLM.

In total, I had at time of writing sent 1200 XLM (Stellar Lumens) to the account.

Basically what I have been doing since I started, and posted about, the "small scale experiment" was to get another 25 Lumens to put into that account each time it ran short.

It ran short because the initial experiment was only about using 1 to 3 Lumens at a time to buy a small amount of a few of the #Galactic-Milieu assets on the Stellar platform, not yet about re-selling any of the bought assets to replenish the account's supply of Lumens.

What makes me find the experiment so far to be a success is the total value of the account, which I have set my LOBSTR app to show in Stellar Lumens. It shows the current value as 1564.4411642 Lumens, which is 364.4411642 Lumens more than the total I put into it!

Thus the "on paper" profit so far is 30.370097% which seems pretty good for such a short period of time.

When I began the experiment, Experimenting at small scale, it was the seventh of June; today as I post this is the twelfth of August. So over 30% "paper profits" in just over two months.

I should note too though that I was not even concentrating only on assets I expected to go up in value; I also picked up HZ, even though it had been experiencing a bunch of "dumping", simply because its "dumping" had driven its price so darn low that it was an "irresistible" bargain. So I probably took some losses. Yet still came out so far ahead.

Remember, this was not the only account involved in the experiment. I don't know how many players in total have taken part in it so far. Some more than others. Maybe you will too?

The idea was just to pick maybe one to three or so of the assets each one to three or so days, and simply make a small purchase of one to three Stellar Lumens worth of them. That was it.

If after doing that for a while you feel, as I do, that it has been a worthwhile experiment, the next stage would be to start putting some of those assets back on sale at higher prices.

Since there is probably "always" a chance that some asset or other might get driven down in price from time to time by someone selling to the buy-side offers instead of placing a sell offer and waiting for someone to buy from it, it could also be a good idea to start building up the buy-side, which is to say, to start placing some buy offers at lower prices, waiting for the price to get driven down enough to be buying from them.

In the long term, the idea is to become a market-maker, the basic "buy low, sell high" mantra of trading. Gradually develop a stronger and stronger column of ascending buy offers all the way up from improbably-low (or lower, as I have over the years seen things driven way lower than I'd ever guessed they might go as well as way higher than I thought they'd ever go), and a column of sell offers going way way high.

So now that I have decided I like the way the experiment has been working, maybe I will start placing some sell offers from now on, and maybe even start building up my buy-side too so I will be in place to profit from any "dumps" that happen.

Happy trading!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now