Wonderful New Zealand Fruit : Feijoa - Absolutely Delicious! 🐴

As a child in New Zealand I loved Feijoa and ate many with glutinous pleasure. Recently someone gave me two huge bags of them and for those of you who have never heard of Feijoa I want to share this wonderful fruit with you.

Interestingly Feijoa has also been called "pineapple guava" or "guavasteen"!

Steemit knows how much I love pineapples!😉

IMG_2618.JPG

New Zealand is not the only country which grows Feijoa and they can also be found in Azerbaijan, Iran, Georgia and Russia.

The fruit is green, oblong and when ripe it is soft. They can be opened with your thumbs to access the soft fruit inside.

IMG_2619.JPG

When you cut them open with a knife this is what they look like:

IMG_2626.JPG

The fruit is soft and has a very distinctive and delightful smell. According to Wikipedia "the chemical methyl benzoate smells strongly of Feijoas and the aroma of the fruit is caused mostly by this and other closely related chemicals."

The taste is hard to explain. Feijoa's are very sweet with a jelly type of flesh. If I can think of a better description I will update the post. I will be glad to hear what other Steemians think Feijoa tastes like!

Fruit is the best and I love eating all kinds of fruit around the world! 😉


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! 😉
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank, @aggroed, @timcliff, @drakos.


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center