Cake worthy...

I've worked since the age of 14 and have had about 5 jobs in that time, not counting the first couple which were collecting shopping trolleys (carts) at the local supermarket part time after school. I don't think it's a lot of jobs really, especially considering the way people hop around between jobs these days. Anyway, each job has had its merits, pros and cons. After 34 years in the workforce I have come to realise a few things: Taxes are inevitable, you'll only get out of it what you put into it and that having some work buddies makes the day seem less...Well, workish at times.

I work within a team of around 14 people, within an office of around 70 or so combined. Our team is awesome. I mean that literally. I enjoy my role which gives me my own office, extreme autonomy and the ability to come and go as I please. I get paid also which is a bonus. I make it a point to get around to everyone in the office though, not just my team, each morning to say hello. I'm not completely sure but I think I'm the only one who does so. It makes me feel better to do so, kickstarts my day. I reserve a little extra for my buddies though; Some extra banter, jokes and occasionally some sensible adult-conversation.

Having a few people within the office who understand me a little more than just as a work-colleague is great because I can relax with them, be more me, as they can with me in return. Each day, mostly, we go for lunch somewhere, either across the road to the supermarket to get our own stuff to make in the kitchen, or out somewhere. Often we get some food and go to the park and in inclement weather, like at the moment, we head somewhere and eat out. It's a fun lunch break, a good pause out of what is usually a busy day and a great time to engage with some awesome people, talk shit and chill.

Yesterday I was unable to join my mates for lunch due to an appointment so I made do with a can of soup thrown into the microwave. No, it wasn't good, but sufficed nonetheless. My mates went to a place close by, renowned for being awesome...Whilst I ate canned soup and then went to my appointment.

On arriving back in my office an hour or so later I found this curious looking box sitting on my desk complete with hand written messages, a snail picture and some flowers also. I'm not a super-sleuth but it didn't take me long to work out where it had come from.

On opening the box I found this tasty treat inside. It was a lemon tart with sprinkles of crushed rose petals on it. Cool! My besties (actually I don't call them that at all, but it seems to work in this application) had bought this cake for me as I was unable to join them for lunch. How nice of them.

It makes me think about who I am, as a person I mean. Obviously to these people I'm worthy of cake, but it goes a little deeper than that I think. There's respect, trust, honesty and candour. Hang on, it sounds a lot like friendship to me.

I can do my job without these people, they can do their's without me too. However considering the length of time we spend together in the workplace it just sort of works that we have the little respite of a lunch break to hang out, vent, whine or just have a laugh, get some fresh air and relax.

Today I got cake, yes I got spoiled for sure. It was good cake too which I enjoyed with a coffee mid-afternoon. Tomorrow I may not get cake but I'll get value nonetheless because I'll get to hang out with my besties. Going to work isn't a chore for me generally, I know I have to go and just get it done but it's made a lot more interesting by having a couple of people to engage with and have some workplace-appropriate fun. OK, so maybe it's not all workplace appropriate...Mostly though. Oh, in case you are wondering my besties are girls...If they were guys you reckon they'd buy me cake? I don't think so! :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center