Haunted: A short story about a Ghost, a Girl and her family. Pt 3

Chapter Three: We're moving! To... "Apple-At-Cha"?

After dad blindsided mom and I with the announcement and the ensuing argument between them, all hell broke loose. The next few days were a buzz of activity around the house.

First, we had to continue our normal lives: work, school, bills, chores, etc.

However, our "free time" in the afternoons and evenings were replaced by learning the details of dads big announcement.

I already told you about "who" my dad is and his role in our family. I didn't tell you what he does.

My dad works for a large power company. You know, the utility company that keeps the lights on. Electricity and all that.

Now, I'm not a full adult yet but I'm not a kid anymore. I hear things from my dad, my friends and their families. Plus, it's 2024, you know? The internet exists.

If you didn't know, right now, there's a big push to "Go Green". Which is really cool because it means we don't have dig up fossil fuels like coal or oil and burn it for power. Instead, our electricity would be generated by "Renewable" sources like Wind, Solar and Hydropower.

I know I don't know a lot about this subject but overhearing certain conversations between my dad and others, makes me question things because they don't add up.

From what I understand about my dads job, America is going "Green" with renewable energy or something. Something about a Green Deal from one of the politicians in Washington and it's REALLY important.

Personally, I love this idea! We wouldn't have to burn fossil fuel which means energy should be cheaper and less polluting. Right? Right.

Now, I'm not dad and I'm still in high school but I'm not stupid. I feel like the steps to this program should be something like:

  1. Build new "Green Power Generators"
  2. Slowly phase out "Fossil Fuel" plants
  3. Ensure Green Power added is more or equal to Fossil Fuel power taken offline
  4. Enjoy new, non polluting power!

Yeah, apparently it's more like:

  1. Outlaw the old plants
  2. Start shutting off fossil fuel power generation
  3. Scramble to build Green Power Generators
    Z. Energy prices spike because politicians don't listen to people like my dad
    ^. Power bills go up
    !. People get angry
  4. Enjoy new, non polluting power!

Honestly, it's confusing but it sounds like a good idea, they're just going about it in a very strange order - which makes everyone upset. Especially the people when they're paying their power bills.

So that's why were moving. My dad has to fix this and help build some new power plant. That's ok though - my dad will fix it. He can fix anything. That's not the crappy part.

The crappy part is I just did a Dongle search online for where we are moving.

Apparently, we are moving to Southwest Virginia. Some place called Appalachia. Oh and if you've never heard of that region, this is important:

If you don't pronounce it Appalachia, they'll throw an "Apple-At-Cha". So there's that.

The good news is, it is beautiful! The photos are majestic! I have never seen so much Green in all my life! The trees. The moss. The grass. EVERYTHING!

It's so beautiful!! I feel like these photos are speaking to my soul but as of 72 hours ago, even though it's 2024 and I could have Dongled it at any time... I didn't even know a place like this existed on Earth!

The bad news is, I don't think they know it's 2024. It seems a little, how should I put it, "rustic"?

Oh man, things were hard enough fitting in here, where the are plenty of people I could fit in with. There aren't any real cities where we are going and from the looks of I don't think some of those towns will have enough people to even make one friend.

...

I'm sorry, I sorta blanked out there for a second and stared at my laptop screen. I am not exactly certain how much time has passed but that's another quirk of yours truly and you should also get used to that, too.

Luna nudging my shoulder snapped me back to reality. Somehow the feline ninja had appeared at my side while I was spaced out.

Thanks Luna, you always seem to bring me back when I've started staring into the void.

Technically, this is called "dissociating" but by mom tells me she's "lost in the mystic winds" when she does it. I can't really tell you where I go when this happens but I can tell you that everything still works.

I see, I hear, I think and I even know that I shouldn't be "stuck" like this. I have all my senses but it's like the part of my brain that does the thinking is disconnected from the part that makes my body move and blink and all that "normal stuff" we humans do.

I scratch Lunas head and she gives me an approving meow as she head butts me once more for good measure.

I look back at the screen of my laptop one last time before I close it for the night.

Appalachia. Virginia. Mountains. I go to close my laptop but something catches my eye.

A link to a podcast: Old Gods of Appalachia. I'll have to check this out later.

I think "Apple-At-Cha" as close my laptop for the night. I turn the light off and climb into bed, Luna curling up at my feet, although I'm certain I'll wake up to her on my head in the morning.

I start to drift off to sleep, tired from these stressful days.

"Apple-at-cha".

Weird.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now