Making Ham and Swiss Sliders - Daily Freewrite

For those who don’t know anything about the Daily Freewrite, check out the introduction post here.

Today’s Freewrite Prompt is Here, in case you want to join me.


I was in the process of making out my grocery shopping list a few weeks ago. I thought to myself, “Why not make a set of sliders to eat this weekend?” 

So on my list, I added the items that I needed. I already had a garlic bulb and some Dijon mustard. All I needed was the rolls, the ham slices, the swiss cheese slices, and the butter for melting. I settled on fries and tossed salad as my side dishes.

Once I grabbed the items from the store, I wrapped the cookie sheet in that non-stick foil. Then I sliced the rolls lengthwise so that the tops were on one side and the bottoms were on the other. I placed the bottoms on the cookie sheet and spread the Dijon mustard over the top. I then topped them with about 15 slices of ham, some of the garlic cloves from the bulb that I chopped up, topped with about 10 slices of cheese, and more Dijon mustard. Then I took the bun tops and covered everything over. I melted about 2 Tablespoons of butter in the microwave and added dried rosemary and dried oregano. Then I poured the mixture over the top of the sliders, covered the top with more foil, and baked it in a 350 Fahrenheit oven for about 10-15 minutes - just enough time to melt the cheese and heat the ham. I cooked the fries and made the salads, and what a wonderful dinner we enjoyed for a few days!


Hope you enjoyed my quick Freewrite!! 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now