Picnic Alfresco In The Forest... In The Rain! (Donegal, Ireland)


Last week's Steemit Culinary Challenge theme inspired me to have my own 'picnic alfresco', and despite the rain we had a wonderful time!  Since my wee man isn't yet 2 I cook and bake all his food from scratch so I know exactly what's going into his body.  For this picnic I made a selection of different savoury and sweet items, all made with natural organic ingredients suitable for little 'uns:


- Mini khorasan soda farles

- Aduki falafels

- Salad skewers

- Curly potato crisps/chips

- Potato and red onion salad

- Pecan & date gingerbread men (no sugar)

- Cinnamon cookies (no sugar)


I will be sharing my recipes for these things in due course... I figured it'd make the post ridiculously long if I included all the food preparation too.  So for now I hope you enjoy viewing my picnic photos.  I live on the edge of Ards Forest in County Donegal, Ireland, and so picnics are a common occurrence for me, my husband and son Sky.  I had been hoping for a sunny day, but Donegal is a decidedly damp county and overcast drizzly grey skies are more the norm than summery days, even in summer.  Oh well!  Armed with a brolly and booted with wellies we found a good sheltered spot beneath the forest canopy, and so even though the drizzle continued we remained fairly dry :-)  Well, until the heavens opened that is and we had to make a mad dash for home!  I got a few photos of the torrential rain, you can see at the end.  Thank goodness for umbrellas!


 

  

 

 

 

 


After a couple months of this kind of weather I think we're due some sunshine, because when you live beside a forest you're practically obliged to be wild, and never too old to be swinging from trees! Or maybe that's just me :-)


  


For healthy vegetarian, sugar-free, additive-free recipes for meals and snacks, and the Steemit Culinary Challenge, please follow me!  
 

Many thanks.
 

For extra tips on health for you and your family, can also support me as Natural Health Mama at: https://www.facebook.com/naturalhealthmamma and https://naturalhealthmamablog.wordpress.com/
 

All photos in this post are my own original, taken with my Fujifilm Finepix S8200.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
54 Comments
Ecency