The garden is producing

The UK summer is a bit of a mixed bag, but the combination of sunshine and rain means the garden is getting quite productive. We have already had a fair few strawberries, but it is not the best crop we have had. The other berries are starting to mature. These are jostaberries which as a cross between black currants and gooseberries. They can be eaten raw. These are one of several plants that were planted by a lady who we let use part of the garden as part of a 'landshare' scheme. She left them behind when she moved.

Jostaberry

Next we have some beans which are just starting to produce. I do not know the varieties of plants we have. I think we grew these from seed.

Beans

Between the rows of beans we have several courgette (zucchini) plants. I picked one yesterday, but we may be overloaded soon. There are also some cauliflowers towards the front. When I took this picture I was struck that the weeds were taking over, so I have been in with a hoe to clear them out.

Courgettes

We have black currants too. I like to mix different berries with my breakfast cereal, but they can be used for other things. We are not into making jam, but then we would not generally use much of it.

Black currants

The raspberry canes have also started, but I just seem to find the odd berry for now. These are nearly ready. Yes, I know there are nettles in the bed.

Raspberry

These are a dark form of gooseberry that are sweeter than the green ones and can be eaten raw. We have a green bush too.

Gooseberry

The rhubarb just comes up every year and there is enough for us to give lots away.

Rhubarb

We have a few tomato plants and the first fruit are starting to form. We were given a selection of plants and so should get different varieties.

Tomato

I am kept busy weeding and watering all these unless it rains.It is actually raining now, but it may not be enough to really soak in. We have plenty of water in the rain butts.

We have also planted spinach, shallots and potatoes. I need to keep an eye on things and maybe plant other things as these finish to keep production going. I am just not a very organised gardener. Maybe I can start some more things in our little greenhouse.

For anyone who is interested the chickens are fine and we get around three eggs per day from them. Whilst I am home they get to go out around the garden most days. I just have to chose some of them out of the vegetable beds where they look for worms. I spotted a mouse in the chicken run, but that is inevitable with all the food that gets spilled. Either a chicken or a cat will probably get it. The chickens will happily eat a mouse if they find one.

I hope the other gardeners out there are also having a good crop.

Hive five!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency