A Hybrid Of The Baking World, Shortcake Crossed With Ladyfingers.

Strawberries and Rhubarb are in season and I have to admit that I am "crushing" hard for this old-fashioned summer-time combination. I recently made a wonderful strawberry-rhubarb compote using freshly squeezed orange juice, ginger root and bee honey.

Naturally, I needed a good accompaniment for this dessert so I set out to try my hand at making a gluten-free shortcake.

By the time I finished experimenting with a few baking techniques, I created what I think is a healthy cross between a traditional Shortcake and Ladyfingers.

This was a pleasant discovery. It opens up a whole host of other desserts that I now can try my hand at in the gluten-free arena. Immediately, I am thinking about trifles and tiramisu...now that I have created a baking hack to wield some additional kitchen magic around.

Here's the list of ingredients:

  • 1+1/2 cups of gluten-free garbanzo bean flour;
  • 1/2 cup of bee honey;
  • 2 eggs;
  • 1/4 cup of cold butter;
  • 1/2 cup of 10% cream;
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract;
  • 3/4 tsp of baking powder;
  • 1/4 tsp of Pink Himalayan salt;
  • and 2 tsp of coconut oil to "oil" the muffin tin and help the shortcakes to release without sticking.

Directions:

  • Gather all the ingredients.

    

  • Add the flour, baking powder and salt to the bowl of a stand mixer and blend the dry ingredients on a medium low speed to make sure that these ingredients are well blended. This will create a small "well".
  • Add the eggs and the honey to this well and blend the mixture on medium speed until the mixture is thoroughly combined.
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

    

  • Add the cold butter and cream. Blend completely.
  • "Oil" the muffin tin, making sure to coat the sides and bottom of the tin really well.
  • Fill each compartment of the tin, half-full with the batter.

    

  • Bake for 15-18 minutes at 350 degrees F.
  • Remove from tin to cool on a cooling rack.

As you can see, these little cakes didn't rise as high as a traditional sponge cake would have. Instead they retained more density and some heaviness which resembles a Ladyfinger in texture.

When I need to make the shape of a Ladyfinger, I'll just use a mini-loaf tin instead of a muffin or cupcake tin. This will allow me to slice the shortcake into long slender pieces. I think that this shape will provide me with a gluten-free alternative that will work in any recipe that calls for the use of a Ladyfinger.

It's a baking hack that will preform double duty. A win all the way around, in my books.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey.

~ Rebecca Ryan




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center