Let's discover the Mauritian Beef Biryani - One of my most favorite food!

Hello everyone!

How many of you have ever had a biryani?
If we look around the world, many countries have their own version of this flavorful and yummy rice dish! I have tried many versions of it, but my all time favorite is the Mauritian one!

In Mauritius this dish is commonly served in weddings or when we have a big festival or simply at home on a Sunday. You can cook it made with meat, chicken, fish, lamb or even vegetables!

Last Sunday, all my sisters were at my place for dinner and we decided to cook the beef biryani! I personally don't know how to make it, so it was my sister who was the chef for the day! I was there just to take some photos to share with you all!

I will not write the recipe, but instead will show you the steps needed to make this lovely rice dish!

So let's follow me to discover The Mauritian Beef Biryani!

DSC_0089.JPG


To have a tasty biryani, you need a lot of fried onions!

DSC_0054.JPG


Another important ingredient of this dish is potatoes!
You just need to peel them, cut in big sizes and semi-fry in hot oil!

DSC_0051.JPG


Gather the pieces of beef and fried potatoes in the special cooking equipment called a deg!
Then add all the spices , yogurt, fried onions, coriander, mint, green chili, little water, oil etc...
This is how it need to look!

DSC_0060.JPG


Let's have a closer look for you to see how the beef pieces and potatoes are well placed evenly!
DSC_0059.JPG


Using some of this marinade, make a dough which will be used to seal the deg when put on fire to cook!

DSC_0066.JPG


Now time to put water to boil with some aromatic spices and salt.

DSC_0073.JPG


Add your long grain basmati rice and boil till semi cooked!

DSC_0067.JPG


Put the semi cooked rice on top of the marinated beef and potatoes!

DSC_0072.JPG


Once you have the first layer done, sprinkle with some more fried onions!
Then continue to add the rest of the rice till the deg is 3/4 full!

DSC_0076.JPG


Once the deg is 3/4 full, add some more fried onions, clarified butter and infused saffron pistils water.

DSC_0077.JPG


Add the dough we made above to seal the deg so that no flavors are lost during the cooking!

DSC_0080.JPG


Put on fire and cook for nearly 2 hours!
As you can see, we cooked this dish on wood fire and the taste is really heavenly when cooked like that!

DSC_0089.JPG


This is my sister opening the deg for the first time!
The biryani looks wonderful!

DSC_0109.JPG


Have a look at the bottom where the meat and potatoes are!
The meat was perfectly cooked as well as the potatoes!

DSC_0114.JPG


Time for dinner my friend...

Here is my plate, I enjoyed this yummy beef biryani with some assorted pickles and cucumber salad!

DSC_0115.JPG


I really had a great dinner that day!
The food cooked in that recipient was served to 50 people in all!

Have you ever had a biryani cooked in this traditional way?

Have you ever cooked in a deg?

Looking forward to your comments my friends!


IMPORTANT NOTE

The SBD made on all my posts moving forward will be used for sponsoring the Steemit Iron Chef 2017!

Anyone wishing to grow the prizes and be a sponsor of this unique contest, please do let me know!
You are most welcomed!

You wish to join and participate?
Check out @steemit-ironchef or follow this link to send your entry!

Thank you!
@progressivechef

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center