The Analogy of a pot of Jollof rice

images(4).jpg
Am like a pot of hot jollof rice
A gathering together- an assembly of varieties of spices
Richness and ingrimages(7).jpgedients that makes the nose rises

My sweet aroma fills the air
Even from afar, you need not come near
I make the nose twitch and eyes to stir
Black, green and smooth like avocado pear
Bring your plate, have your share
Delicious eruption that satiates, oh dear!

What if you taste of the fluid thick pot-bottom
That down part, where the best of sweetness and ingredients
Sinks down to, but it is not meant for all, not for expedients
But for friends, lovers, families who have made my heart their resident

And then, to those who only love me with the tip of the tongue
Those who only seek to do me wrong
I, sweet as I could be
Could as well fetch for my foes
From the same pot of Jollof
The burnt-end, the bitterness

For isn't it the same teeth a hound plays with it cubs
That it strikes with?
Hug me sweet, but don't squeeze me tight
For the warmth I radiate, if taken for granted
Could heat up to burn like brime and sulphur
But then, only if called for

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now