Ocean Grill Maldives - Traditional Black Forest Cake

Afternoon Foodies,

I have been writing about the meals I had on holiday when I was in the Maldives. This is my dessert of the first night I was there.

Traditional Black Forest Cake

”Layers of brandy soaked sponge, chocolate shavings and cherry compote.”

I was lucky enough to have a black forest cake in my room when I first arrived. It was a specially decorated birthday cake. I didn’t want to eat it that day as I had already been stuffed on plane food. I did however eat it 7am in the morning the following day… and I ate all of it!

I knew their black forest cake was good and I enjoyed my birthday cake so much, so I really wanted to order it for dessert. The dessert was very different in look to my birthday cake. Well you would think the birthday cake would be different as it’s for a special occasion. I loved the look of the black forest when it came out. It did look rather ’cheffy’. I really liked the look of the chocolate shards around the cake and the shards on top. When I removed the shards I saw the layers of the cake. It looked so beautiful. I loved the look of all the different layers. The brandy soaked chocolate cake was so moist and it was really chocolatey. I love chocolate and brandy. There is just something satisfying about it. The top of the cake was fresh cream. That was really light and fluffy. I’m surprised it held up in the heat as it was still in the mid to late 20’s. The first layer tasted like a white chocolate mousse and the other layer was a milk chocolate mousse. The cherry compote was hidden in the cake too as well as being smeared on the plate for decoration. Everything tasted so good. Even though I was stuffed after eating my lobster before hand.

This cake was a cake to die for. It wasn’t your traditional looking black forest cake, but it certainly hit the spot. Cake, cream, booze, chocolate. What more could a woman want?! My mouth is watering now!

Ocean Grill

Rock Lobster Thermidor
Tian of Spanner Crab Meat and King Scallops

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center